How to change the Web GUI port ?

Discussion in 'General' started by derflanoj, May 26, 2009.

  1. derflanoj

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi! Guys, I want to know how can I change the Web GUI port of Elastix from 443 to a different port number because the port 443 is already used by our web server and we only got one public ip. I want to use the port number so that I can access it from outside our network. Thanks.
     
  2. ramoncio

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,663
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi derflanoj, wellcome to the forum!

    In order to change the web gui ports, you will need to modify /etc/httpd/conf/httpd.conf

    You will have to change the line

    Listen 80

    to the port you wish to use.

    Also there are some lines that redirect all petitions to https into /etc/httpd/conf.d/elastix.conf

    <Directory "/var/www/html">
    # Redirect administration interface to https
    RewriteEngine On
    RewriteCond %{HTTPS} off
    RewriteRule (.*) https://%{HTTP_HOST}%{REQUEST_URI}
    </Directory>

    you'll need to comment them out or delete them.
     
  3. rafael

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,454
    Likes Received:
    1
    Acutally the file you should edit is /etc/httpd/conf.d/ssl.conf and change the Listen line to any port instead of 443. You can edit the lines in elastix.conf as ramoncio sugested.

    regards,

    Rafael
     
  4. derflanoj

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks to both of you, Now I have a question? I want to change the port 443 in the ssl.conf what would be the best port number I should use because port 443 is already assigned to one of my device. Can I access my Elastix Web GUI outside my network even if I only installed Elastix in VMware?

    I have done this things:

    1. Setup Elastix in VMware Server
    2. Change port 443 in ssl.conf to port 8080
    3. Open the port 8080 in my router and forward it to my Elastix IP address.

    Elastix is working both inbound and outbound call and and Web GUI can be access internally but I cannot access it outside my network. Can someone give on how to go about it.
     
  5. dicko

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    Perhaps you complicate matters,

    within your network the ipaddrsss: port is likely to be unique and usable at all the defaults.

    You router/firewall can normally nat/pat anything to anything, perhaps a simpler way then might be to:
    Code:
    
    inside 
    192.168.3.4 (elastix) on port 443 
    https://192.168.3.4 gets you there, as will
    http://192.168.3.4 (by the rewrite rules))
    
    192.168.3.5 (something else) on port 443
    https://192.168.3.5 gets you there too.
    
    nat/pat rules:
    
    externip:444 to 192.168.3.4:443
    https://externip:444 gets to Elastix (from the outside)
    
    externip:445 to 192.168.3.5:443
    https://externip:444 gets to something else (from the outside)
    
    however
    http://externip:444 (from the outside)
    
    might or might not get you to the Elastix box there depending on your router's capability and programming,
    (http is not https, if the router is statefully inspecting the packets it probably won't forward http but will forward https)
    
    
    p.s. Also be aware that I.E. is brain-dead compared to other browsers when it comes to resolving externip:444 rather than https://externip:444 ( https explicitly) in the "address bar"
    
    
    
    
     
  6. derflanoj

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi I have changed the ssl.conf port to 444 after doing that I wasn't able to browse the web gui anymore using https://my_elastix_ip_add:444 what do I need to adjust in elastix.conf
     
  7. derflanoj

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok I just do what Ramoncio said and it's working fine.
     
  8. s4s_s4me

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    thankss very much it help very much
     
  9. cmmfahim

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I have done the same on many instances and this method works well.May be the proper one.

    Assume you need to chnage the port from 443 to 8080

    cd /etc/httpd/conf.d

    Edit ssl.conf

    Change the

    Listen 443 to listen 8080

    Then go to <VirtualHost _default_:443> and change it to <VirtualHost _default_:8080>

    Assuming only one virtual host exists if not need to change the proper one.

    As usual

    restart httpd.....in your own way and I prefer

    service httpd restart

    Please let me know if this works or not works for some reason :)
     
  10. matheuscumth

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0


    Works Dude!!!!
     

Share This Page