How to change Mailbox Announcement

Discussion in 'General' started by jessie, May 19, 2009.

  1. jessie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    I would like to change the default voicemail announcement, i.e., "personal extension '100' is unavailable, please leave your message after the tone. when done hangup or press the # key". I want to create my own announcement that will fit to my application. Any help is very much appreciated.


    Regards,

    Jessie
     
  2. asepulveda

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just dial your voice mail , the same way you do it when you check your mail , and enter to the voice mail options , i think is the number 3 , there you can personalice any of the message , unavailable , busy , dnd
     
  3. johnme

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi

    Another way is to check the option " Do Not Play please leave message after tone to caller" and then create an ivr that has as a destination
     
  4. johnme

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    " Do Not Play please leave message after tone to caller"
    You can find it in freepbx in general settings
     
  5. jessie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Asepulveda,

    Thank you very much, that really works on one extension. I don't think I have to do that to all of our extensions specially other extensions were on remote area.

    Again, Thank you.


    Regards,

    Jessie
     
  6. jessie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi johnme,

    Creating IVR, Announcement and System recording are good Idea but this are best when doing DID purposes. In the General Settings, the only option is " Do Not Play please leave message after tone to caller". There is no option like "Do Not Play extension XXXXXX is not available".

    Is there any possible way to have option parameters in the Extensions menu to have not to play the extension number when we enable the Voicemail? (if not in the GUI, somewhere in the extensions.conf?)

    Any idea is very much appreciated.


    Regards to all,

    Jessie
     
  7. Megabyte

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, if you want to do so, do this:

    1-) record the announce you want to hear.
    2-) Find in /var/lib/asterisk/sounds the defaults sounds of the voicemail (the ones you want to change)
    3-) rename the sounds files. for example ( voicemail-intro.gsm to voicemail-intro.gsm.old)
    4-) rename your new recorder to voicemail-intro( for example)
    5-) try now.

    That will be the default for all your message.
     
  8. jessie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Megabyte,

    It did works... thank you very much.


    Cheers,

    jessie
     
  9. Megabyte

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    0
    Give me an applaud :p.
    And no problem we are here to help
     

Share This Page