how reliable asterisk is?

Discussion in 'General' started by khalid, Oct 9, 2010.

1. khalid

Hi,
    I am new to VoIP systems. I want to run an internal PBX to a small company. the issue that since they have a customer care part, it should be very reliable. The question is, how often asterisk fails?

the installation will be in a good PC, but not a dedicated server. I am using elastix by the way. Help me please.

2. osmose

Asterisk is as good as the installer can do it.

Is enough fail safe to be trusted by carriers, Telecomms companies and Call cenres all over the world.Stability is something that has to do with who and how you install.

I would not recommend the VM installation for a production system. But this is solely my experience.I would prepfer to run it in a rather weak machine but dedicated.

In any case I would recommend, as you are new to voip, to understand the needs of the customer, take the machine and built it in your lab, tested for a couple of days, especially the features that they neeed, fix any problems that may occur and the install it as production system.

RGDS

3. Lee Sharp

Is it a junky old PC with an old power supply? Is it plugged into the wall with no battery backup? Is the climate control shut off for the weekend?

I have systems up for years, but I keep the dust out, run battery backups, and replace cheap power supplies with good ones.

The software is very stable, but the hardware is totally under your control.

4. andyshawn

I have been using asterisk for over 4 years now and i found out about elastix about 2 years ago and i have been using it in production environments and it is pretty stable.
    I would not recommend using the 2.0 version as yet. The 1.6 version is very solid and you should use that version for now.

5. trymes

As others have mentioned, the main variable here is not the software. It is the person who chooses the hardware, installs the system, configures everything, and maintains is once it is set up.