How many channels can you get from the Free G.729?

Discussion in 'General' started by torontob, Jan 23, 2009.

  1. torontob

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello Everyone,

    I have been trying to do some bulk termination and interconnect with some long distance providers, and most of them require g.729 as the codec. I have installed g.729 codec as per Elastix Without Tears. How many channels should I expect to get out of that? I know that it depends on the CPU but does it also have any limits to number of channels like the Digium G.729 code?

    Thanks
     
  2. Chilling_Silence

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    0
    Without knowing too much about how you specifically did it, I'd suggest that no there shouldnt be a limit unless you use the official Digium code.
     
  3. torontob

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here is what I did to get g.729 working (ref. Elastix Without Tears by Bin Sharif):

    38.1 INSTALLING G729 AND G723 CODECS
    If you have the licence for the g729 codec and found that the Digium version of g729
    is a little problematic and would like to try the free version, following is the method of
    installing it as described by David Klaverstyn
     
  4. haamed

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    0
    HHHHHMMMMM, there is no limit to g729 concurrent calls,:woohoo:
    nut g729 is not stable in many CPUs,
    if you have a problem in some calls with g729,
    It's good for you to test iLBC codec,
    the compression is like g729 but it is stable in all systems,
    but i don't know is still asterisk support iLBC in new versions or not!:blink:

    GOOD LUCK
     
  5. Chilling_Silence

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah it does and its dead-easy to install / compile, all automated.

    I even have binaries for the ilbc .so files which you can "drop-in" that work if you dont wanna compile, saves hassle :)
     

Share This Page