How do I tunnel to the Elastix GUI using Putty

Discussion in 'General' started by MGG, Mar 26, 2010.

  1. MGG

    MGG

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi All,

    Can anyone tell me how I can configure my Elastix remotely ( Away From My Local Area Network) using the Elastix GUI? Can I use putty? If so how do I configure Putty to do this?
    :dry:
     
  2. dicko

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    More conveniently you can use a web browser, point it to https://<externip> and make sure tcp/443 is forwarded on the firewall
     
  3. MGG

    MGG

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re:How do I tunnel to the Elastix GUI using Puttyx

    Thanks Dicko,

    That seemed logical however even after inward port forwarding 443 to the elastix box with the following syntax: xxx.xxx.xx.xxx:443.... All I got was a white page in Internet Explorer Browser

    Still not happening for me. I will try firefox then I will try disbling all my antivirus firewalls as well.

    I will let you know how I go.

    Cheers
     
  4. dicko

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    0
  5. MGG

    MGG

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re:How do I tunnel to the Elastix GUI using Puttyx

    I found out why .........

    Port 443 was preconfigured in my netgear router to be HTTP not SSL.

    The following was the eligant message I rceived from the ever reliable firefox:

    "Bad Request

    Your browser sent a request that this server could not understand.
    Reason: You're speaking plain HTTP to an SSL-enabled server port.
    Instead use the HTTPS scheme to access this URL, please.

    Hint: https://localhost.localdomain/

    Apache/2.2.3 (CentOS) Server at localhost.localdomain Port 443"

    Do not know quite what all the means but I am troubled to delete the preconfigured netgear service.
     
  6. dicko

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re:How do I tunnel to the Elastix GUI using Puttyx

    read my last post, Elastix uses https and not http so apart from your brain-dead router

    Code:
    https://externalip:443 should work 
    
    as should
    
    https://externalip
    
    however
    
    
    http://externalip:443 will give you that error
    
    dicko
     
  7. MGG

    MGG

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re:How do I tunnel to the Elastix GUI using Puttyx

    Routers are not "Brain Dead" but their users are......Of Corse Dicko, you are right and you have solved my problem it works well.

    Now I am turning off that hole in the firewall.

    I appreciate your ongoing interest and support to us dumboes.

    Cheers
    :)
     
  8. dicko

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re:How do I tunnel to the Elastix GUI using Puttyx

    Believe me some routers are especially when it comes to VOIP,

    Don't worry I still count myself as a dumbo in many ways. lack of knowledge/experience is natural and nothing to to with "dumboeness", that too will pass.

    regards

    dicko
     
  9. Kalama Sutra

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re:How do I tunnel to the Elastix GUI using Puttyx

    Mark,

    I think it's mid day for you ( 11 pm West Coast USA here ) ...

    Not wanting to muddy the waters from the advice that dicko has given; don't know about his picture, but he has his stuff together from what help I've gotten and his massive posts throughout the forums ( hint: if he help'd ya, karmanize him ;) )

    Anyway, another thought for you ... are you looking at off site access on a regular basis, or just once in a while AND do you "control" the elastix box ? If you are regular basis and you control { it belongs to you }, might I recommend setting up a tight VPN {virtual private network } between your routers. This will get you around a number of the firewall issues. Your next consideration here, <<this can drive you nuts if you do the second option I'll describe>>

    1. if just a once in a while basis ... super market / store shelf VPN routers ... fairly cheap ... CRAP for running VOIP between locations

    or

    2. if you can get your hands on some "old" pc's <buy a fast new one for your elastix server and use old one here> there are some great FOSS items to build router / firewalls. My home unit has a "Designed for Windows 2000" sticker on it .... I've a P-IV at my office where my elastix box also lives; 2 other satellite offices are set up the same. A great benefit with these is my VOIP network is rock solid back to my e-box. << quick aside here ... in Jan. Mrs. & I vacationed in Mexico for 2 weeks, had to get the moss from between the toes ... I set up a road warrior and used our portable as a direct phone extension back to the office. Kinda Kool>>

    This is not a product recommendation ... the FOSS items I've played with are IP-Cop, and I use ShoreWall ... both have great support forums just as you find here supporting elastix. And, if you think this VOIP server stuff will drive you nuts; just look at all the ways you can get into the router / firewall world :woohoo:

    Have fun,

    Jim
     
  10. dicko

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re:How do I tunnel to the Elastix GUI using Puttyx

    FWIW and JM2CWAE

    VPN's intrinsically lay a level of latency on any infrastructure, if you use encryption and don't use hardware to do that you are at risk of destroying VOIP, where any latency much above 80 milliseconds will spoil your whole experience, personally I find home/office type routers really don't have the balls to do it without approaching the margin of "I F*$*ing hate this" from your clients/family.

    really guys, a well constructed routed network even over the cheapest domestic DSL type connections will adequately ensure a couple of good quality phone calls, add compression or limited bandwidth or your son downloading porn or hip-hop in his room and it will spoil your whole day, (WAF) .

    If your router does QOS, please use it, if your Asterisk box is also your router, please investigate QOS on it. (arno's firewall)

    dicko


    p.s.
    My picture is of me on the 4th. lighting a Chinese fire-cracker and ultimately "surprising" a friend (it was VERY successful) the tee-shirt is from a very trendy hotel in Stockholm that used to be a prison (the beds sucked), if you read anything else into it then shame on you :)
     

Share This Page