How can i record the calls in Elastix

Discussion in 'General' started by wallcrawler, Oct 1, 2009.

  1. wallcrawler

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello all,

    I´m such a newbie in elastix, and i can´t configure the elastix pbx (FreePbx) to record all incomming and/or outcomming calls. There´s any "How-To" who teachs how to do it?

    Thanks.

    Wall
     
  2. dwells

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    There are different ways to record within the system.

    Either set the Always Record option per user account, in the drop down menu when you create/edit an account,

    or you can set the 'W' and/or 'w' settings (for Caller/Callee) in General Settings to enable the '*1' function for the On-Demand recording options per channel. In short during a phone call you can press '*1' to start recording. This is saved within the system.

    Make sure that in general settings the Record Override is set to Disabled.
    These settings do not affect the conference recording options.

    If you are using a softphone like X-Lite, you can press the record button, and it will save a wav file in you MyDocs.

    Be sure to warn your callers that you are recording/monitoring for Quality purposes, there are built in recordings for this. (just in case)

    -dwellsy
     
  3. wallcrawler

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks dwells.

    I´ve already do this, but i didn´t see in any folder of elastix the recording calls. Neither in any reports on freepbx or in the elastix administrator.

    In which folder this calls is placed when recorded?

    Wall.
     
  4. dwells

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    try /var/spool/asterisk/monitor for system recorded calls.

    -dwellsy
     
  5. wallcrawler

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    There´s nothing in this folder. I´ve check all configuration for any mistakes, but everything is exactly what you´ve told me.

    Wall.
     
  6. dwells

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmm, strange.

    Let's try something, edit the extension you are using from PBX tab. Scroll down until you come to the recording section. Flip the incomming and outgoing option to "Always". save and reload.

    Call a cell phone/land line or other phone you have control of, either answer it or let it go to voicemail. leave a short message. Check this folder again. (if using WinSCP be sure to refresh folder view) as it will cache the last results.

    you should see a file starting with auto-(junk)
    as an example here is a file name (in my monitor folder from my 1000 extension) by doing something similar to as mentioned...
    auto-1253887022-1000-DID.wav //EDIT i think auto is the On-Demand '*1' option.

    this says record from: auto-(UTC code)-EXTEN-DID.wav

    If nothing still, there maybe a different setup or config problem...

    //EDIT
    Sorry I just did this EXACTLY, and this file showed up as
    OUT1000-20091002-124820-1254502100.8189.wav when calling myself.
    -the folder mentioned above is correct.


    -dwells
     
  7. wallcrawler

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    i did this but nothing is in monitor folder (folder or anything else).
     
  8. dwells

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, can you give us some CLI output when you make a call from the extension that is set to ALWAYS record please, that might reveal the problem. please make sure that the verbosity is 3 or more, or turn debuging on.

    asterisk -vvvvr

    thanks
    -dwellsy
     
  9. wallcrawler

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don´t know how to do this, but executing the command above, the response was:

    Asterisk 1.4.24, Copyright (C) 1999 - 2008 Digium, Inc. and others.
    Created by Mark Spencer <markster@digium.com>
    Asterisk comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY; type 'core show warranty' for details.
    This is free software, with components licensed under the GNU General Public
    License version 2 and other licenses; you are welcome to redistribute it under
    certain conditions. Type 'core show license' for details.
    =========================================================================
    == Parsing '/etc/asterisk/asterisk.conf': Found
    == Parsing '/etc/asterisk/extconfig.conf': Found
    Connected to Asterisk 1.4.24 currently running on elastix (pid = 3280)
    Verbosity is at least 3

    Thanks
    Wall
     
  10. dwells

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey Wall,

    Yup almost there, that command is to open the asterisk console. This is a live view of what the server is writting into the logs anyways, it was to save you from looking through full log files.

    When you open this console, make a call...what the code fly. When finished you can use your mouse and select that call information can <Ctrl><C> (copy) and paste it into a notepad for example. (Ctrl+C will also kick out out of the console, but it copies.)

    I'm looking for how the call gets setup, it usually does a check to see if this call should be recorded, if it's enable properly. It shouls also give a file name that we could potentially search for in your computer.

    Try the LOCATE command.

    If we can get some output, I might be able to give you better input.
    Thanks
    -dwellsy
     
  11. titus

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey I have same problem, with same symptoms in every comma.
    It looks like the .ISO missed that part, no recording is ever done.
    Probably the same old story of Uniq ID that we have to add manually and recompile the mysql.
    Does anyone can guide through that?
    any help is appreciated..
     
  12. wallcrawler

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone can help us with that?
     
  13. witekprytek

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same problem with calls monitoring/recording in Elastix 1.5.2-2.

    I have found in configuration file: features_featuremap_additional.conf
    something like this:
    blindxfer=##
    atxfer=*2
    automon=*1
    disconnect=**

    but there is nothing else in other configuration files regarding automon.
    I have options Ww for incoming and outgoing calls, but after pressing *1 during calls, nothing happens.

    It is no information in system console about any action.
    DTMF works fine I can login to remote services via remote IVR.

    Does anybody could confirm for sure that recording functions (by pressing *1) works on elastix 1.5.2-2 or does not?


    WP
     
  14. charlesrg

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same issue here. *1 does not work.

    ALWAYS Record works, but Record on Demand does not.
     
  15. Bob

    Bob

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,400
    Likes Received:
    1
    Works fine on this end....

    Couple of lines from the CLI from extension 201 to extension 202

    -- SIP/202-088dd050 answered SIP/201-088d9030
    -- User hit '*1' to record call. filename: wav|auto-1256169469-201-202|m

    Use this extension to extension as a test first...

    Just as a thought, what IP Phones are you using, is it intercepting the *1 command, thinking it is one of its own?? With the Linksys phones, it is necessary to remove all the * commands from the setup, so that it does not intercept the command.

    Regards

    Bob
     
  16. charlesrg

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cisco 7940

    It could be the phone intercepting, but the DTMF should come to the Asterisk. Do you know if is there any parameters to disable Phone DTMF interception ?

    I cannot change the *1 to anything else. The feature code screen does not allow that.
     
  17. charlesrg

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not a phone problem I just added wW in Asterisk Dial command options:

    And that works fine.

    The issue is that the End user can Start or Stop the Recording too.

    I want only my extension to Start or Stop not the person in the other side of the line.
     
  18. dwells

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    You need to watch the W vs. w don't put BOTH in ONE box.

    put the 'w' in the Dial box (top one)
    put the 'W' in the outbound box (bottom one)

    hover your mouse over the title to read the difference between letting the "callee" vs "caller" record the conversation.
     
  19. wallcrawler

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok. I´ll test. But i want to record ALL calls, and not let the operador to do this.
     
  20. witekprytek

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Bob,
    What codec and DTMF setting do you use?
    Does it works for you for incoming/outgoing calls from/to SIP trunk?


    Regards
    WP
     

Share This Page