Help...off-site transfer

mismatrix

Joined
Aug 16, 2009
Messages
11
Likes
0
Points
0
#1
Hi,

I'm working on a big project and one of the requirements this time is being able to transfer a call to someone that is outside the office, i.e. a cell phone. I know this is normally a centrix feature by the phone company but this will be a SIP trunk and SIP provider doesn't supply any features. In some phone systems, it's call an "un-supervised conference." Any ideas on how to do this?

Thanks!
 

Chilling_Silence

Joined
Sep 23, 2008
Messages
488
Likes
0
Points
0
#2
Asterisk is more than capable of doing this. Usually you can press the "transfer" button on your IP Phone, or ## then dial the number to transfer it to if you're using an ATA / Softphone. It'll automatically follow the outbound route rules.

Otherwise install FOP2 from fop2.com and see if that assists you with your transferring.

The fact you're being tripped up over possibly *the* most standard feature of asterisk and you're doing a big deployment sets off alarm bells. Time to hit Google and do some research IMO buddy, and read elastix without tears too...
 

mismatrix

Joined
Aug 16, 2009
Messages
11
Likes
0
Points
0
#3
Thanks for the info, I actually got it working pretty well over the weekend. I actually needed to modify my config on my Adtran IAD to accept *N and route it to my Elastix trunk group. I'll check out fop2.com...thanks for the tip.
 

mismatrix

Joined
Aug 16, 2009
Messages
11
Likes
0
Points
0
#4
Don't know if anyone is following this still...it's working, but users are complaining about the dialing time being too short. I.e. you are on a call, press *2, get dial tone, and if you don't dial another extension or phone number within about 2 or 3 seconds, it re-connects you to the orgional call. Is there a timer somewhere that we can change for this?
 

johnme

Joined
Nov 28, 2008
Messages
148
Likes
0
Points
0
#5
Hi
============================================================
in etc/asterisk/features_general_custom.conf I have:

pickupexten => *0
featuredigittimeout = 1500 ; Max time (ms) between digits ;for
;feature activation (default is 500 ms)
atxfernoanswertimeout = 15 ; Timeout for answer on attended ;transfer default is 15 seconds.
transferdigittimeout = 3 ; Number of seconds to wait between ;digits when transferring a call
============================================================

so atxfernoanswertimeout = ?? is the setting you need.

Good Luck
John
 

mismatrix

Joined
Aug 16, 2009
Messages
11
Likes
0
Points
0
#6
Thanks johnme!

That helped a lot. It turned out to be "transferdigittimeout => 6" did the fix.

Thanks again :)
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest posts

Forum statistics

Threads
30,902
Messages
130,886
Members
17,563
Latest member
dineshr
Top