Help...off-site transfer

Discussion in 'General' started by mismatrix, Sep 12, 2009.

  1. mismatrix

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I'm working on a big project and one of the requirements this time is being able to transfer a call to someone that is outside the office, i.e. a cell phone. I know this is normally a centrix feature by the phone company but this will be a SIP trunk and SIP provider doesn't supply any features. In some phone systems, it's call an "un-supervised conference." Any ideas on how to do this?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Chilling_Silence

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    0
    Asterisk is more than capable of doing this. Usually you can press the "transfer" button on your IP Phone, or ## then dial the number to transfer it to if you're using an ATA / Softphone. It'll automatically follow the outbound route rules.

    Otherwise install FOP2 from fop2.com and see if that assists you with your transferring.

    The fact you're being tripped up over possibly *the* most standard feature of asterisk and you're doing a big deployment sets off alarm bells. Time to hit Google and do some research IMO buddy, and read elastix without tears too...
     
  3. mismatrix

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the info, I actually got it working pretty well over the weekend. I actually needed to modify my config on my Adtran IAD to accept *N and route it to my Elastix trunk group. I'll check out fop2.com...thanks for the tip.
     
  4. mismatrix

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Don't know if anyone is following this still...it's working, but users are complaining about the dialing time being too short. I.e. you are on a call, press *2, get dial tone, and if you don't dial another extension or phone number within about 2 or 3 seconds, it re-connects you to the orgional call. Is there a timer somewhere that we can change for this?
     
  5. johnme

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi
    ============================================================
    in etc/asterisk/features_general_custom.conf I have:

    pickupexten => *0
    featuredigittimeout = 1500 ; Max time (ms) between digits ;for
    ;feature activation (default is 500 ms)
    atxfernoanswertimeout = 15 ; Timeout for answer on attended ;transfer default is 15 seconds.
    transferdigittimeout = 3 ; Number of seconds to wait between ;digits when transferring a call
    ============================================================

    so atxfernoanswertimeout = ?? is the setting you need.

    Good Luck
    John
     
  6. mismatrix

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks johnme!

    That helped a lot. It turned out to be "transferdigittimeout => 6" did the fix.

    Thanks again :)
     

Share This Page