Help Find my Server:))

Discussion in 'General' started by Artush, Nov 20, 2009.

  1. Artush

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Last night I have installed my 1st elastix server, everything all right, but I hevn`t DHCP server and want to setup static IP. I tiped <Setup> as written in instruction, but there is not <Network configuration>. Answear please, how I can setup static IP?
     
  2. dicko

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try

    yum -y install system-config-network-tui
    setup

    it should be there then
     
  3. Artush

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Loaded plugins: fastestmirror
    Loading mirror speeds from cashed hostfile
    Could not retrieve mirrorlist http://mirrors.fedoraproject.org/mirror ... &arch=i386 error was
    [Errno 4] IOError: ,urlopen error (-3, Temporary failure in name resolution}>
    Error: Cannot find a valid baseurl for repo: epel

    I thik the error is that server cannot connect to internet, bat I cannot set internet IP settings without network configuration.

    Sorry if anything is wrong, I`m new in linux:)
     
  4. dicko

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry, can't help you being new, but if your current dhcp server doesn't give out a valid name server you will have to edit /etc/resolv.conf and add a line

    nameserver <valid name server>

    but the only editor you have is vi and you are new here. . .
    hmm

    try:


    echo "nameserver 4.2.2.1" >> /etc/resolv.conf

    and try over
     
  5. Artush

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you very much, it`s now working:)
     
  6. ramoncio

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,663
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think at least one nameserver should be set at the initial install.
    What's wrong with vi? X-D
     
  7. Artush

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Last week I have tried Trixbox, and there wasn`t nessesary of internet connection during instalation process. After instalation I setup static IP easily. I haven`t DHCP server in my network. I disided that in Elastix it is same.
    For solving problem I setup DHCP server in my Win2003 server & connected Elastix to that server. After instalation from internet I had <network configuration> in the panel :)
     
  8. dicko

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    greetings Ramon:

    FWIW:
    Also missing IMHO are system-config-network-tui, rsync, mc, nano, iptraf, bind-utils, jwhois and dnsmasq asap to add basic missing functionality, as the assumption that there is a functional DHCP server by Elastix is a little restrictive, and the lack of effective diagnostic and correctional tools is a PITA.

    Although I agree that there is nothing "wrong" ;) with vi, (and for the edification of those who have never had to use it), it is a little confusing for poor old windows users who are used to Word in all it's dysfunctionality.
     

Share This Page