Hardware needed for 60 simult. SIP calls

Discussion in 'General' started by pourrien, Apr 4, 2009.

  1. pourrien

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Friends,
    I want to know the minimum required and the better hardware I need for 60 concurrent/simultaneous. SIP calls.
    Thanks a lot for your help
    Pourrien
     
  2. pourrien

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    20 viewer and nobody leave a messgae ?? ;)
     
  3. ramoncio

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,663
    Likes Received:
    0
    Don't worry about the hardware, any new machine can do 60 calls even with transcoding.
    You should worry about your bandwidth. You'll need a good and fast connection.
     
  4. Chilling_Silence

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    0
    Transcoding becomes a little bit of a worry if you have 60 calls you're wanting to change the codec of, however if you go for any stock-standard Core2Duo 2Ghz+ then you'll have cpu power to burn.
    2GB Ram wouldnt go amiss
    But most importantly as ramoncio said, bandwidth coming out your ears would help greatly. Use a provider who supports iLBC or g729, and if possible IAX2 Trunking (Saves lots of bandwidth).
     
  5. pourrien

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks a lot for your reply.
    I think there are no problem for the bandwidth because my server is hosted in a datacenter with a 100MB connction.
    But maybe it's necessary to change my CPU, because I have a AMD Athlon 64 2GHz with 2GB of RAM.
    Thanks again for your help
    Pourrien
     
  6. gbrook

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    That processor should still be OK anyway

    Cheers
    Garry
     
  7. pourrien

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok thanks for your help
    Regards
    Pourrien
     
  8. Chilling_Silence

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    0
    It'll definitely be OK if you're not transcoding
    Otherwise, chuck elastix on the box, ssh in and then run:
    asterisk -r
    Then, type in:
    core show translation recalc 10

    Look at the two codecs it'll be transcoding between, and remember there are 1000ms in 1 second, so mine looks like this:
    http://pastie.org/441503
    Which means it takes approx 36ms to go from g711 to iLBC
    If I had ALL my calls doing that, I could host 1000ms / 36ms = 27 concurrent calls. Bear in mind that assumes nobody else is using Music on Hold, or that anything else is happening to the system, so realistically I could do a "safe" 20 calls, a "probable" 25 calls, and a system max (probably unstable) of 27 on this CPU.

    RAM requirements are minimal so dont worry about that either :)

    Hope this helps


    Chill.
     

Share This Page