FXO Trunk Dial Volume To PSTN Too Low

ismed

Joined
Oct 1, 2009
Messages
120
Likes
0
Points
0
#1
Dear Sirs,
Can we increase the gain slightly the volume of the zap fxo trunk (tdm400 card) when the trunk dialing the pstn line?

Because I hear it too low and too slow.

Awaiting your respond soon and thank you.

Best regards,
Ismed
 

dicko

Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
4,099
Likes
0
Points
0
#2
search here and the other recommended resources for txgain and rxgain settings in chan_dahdi.conf for gain settings and toneduration=NN for tone duration settings
 

ismed

Joined
Oct 1, 2009
Messages
120
Likes
0
Points
0
#3
Hi Dicko,
Thanks a lot for your advises and will have a look and try it tonight, as I am on the road right now. I will comeback to you for what I can get...
 

ismed

Joined
Oct 1, 2009
Messages
120
Likes
0
Points
0
#4
Hi Dicko and experts,
It seems there is a different on the volume gain after I change the txgain and rxgain, but is it true that the txgain and rxgain paramenter will change the tone gain for dialing tone and not the voice volume? Even though I want to increase the voice volume gain I also want to increase the gain of dial tone instead only voice volume gain.

And for toneduration I notice there is no different and still remain the same, I cannot change the time between dial tone faster or slower with toneduration parameter, I already tried from 60 to 600 but no luck. should we change dial tone frequency or other parameter? and where to change it.

Awaiting your respond and thank you.

Best regards,
Ismed
 

dicko

Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
4,099
Likes
0
Points
0
#5
Changes in that file take a complete reload of the dahdi driver to take effect.
 

ismed

Joined
Oct 1, 2009
Messages
120
Likes
0
Points
0
#6
Hi Dicko,
Belows is the modified chan_dahdi.conf :

[channels]
context=from-pstn
signalling=fxs_ks
rxwink=300 ; Atlas seems to use long (250ms) winks
usecallerid=yes
hidecallerid=no
callwaiting=yes
usecallingpres=yes
callwaitingcallerid=yes
threewaycalling=yes
transfer=yes
canpark=yes
cancallforward=yes
callreturn=yes
echocancel=yes
echocancelwhenbridged=no
faxdetect=incoming
echotraining=800
rxgain=2.0
txgain=4.0
callgroup=1
pickupgroup=1
toneduration=60

I reloaded that many times but nothing change for tone dial freq time or time between dial tone either faster or longer and always the same.

Should I change something else?

Awaiting your respond soon and thank you.

Best regards,
Ismed
 

haamed

Joined
Jul 23, 2007
Messages
251
Likes
0
Points
0
#7
may be you test it before but for sureness,
- test your Tel line with a analog phone to sure that the line has no problem.
- if you use analog card, change the line and FXO port to sure that the FXO module has no problem.
- make call from Ext to Ext to sure that the IPphone or headset have no Problem.


GoodLuck
 

dicko

Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
4,099
Likes
0
Points
0
#8
60ms is too short a time for 100% reliable DTMF detection, 80ms is the industry "standard" unfortunately if you you lower it below 120ms many IVR's just don't follow that "standard" and cease to work,

I have to verify what YOU mean by "reloaded that many times" (it only takes one reload, machines are stupid, they do what you tell them, not what you want them to do, further they just do it so get out of the habit of doing the same thing agin if it doesn't work the first time, the result will be exactly the same. What do you exactly believe a dahdi "reload" entails?) otherwise, all I can say is IWFM. perhaps your hardware phones need looking at for any over-ride of DTMF timing.
 

ismed

Joined
Oct 1, 2009
Messages
120
Likes
0
Points
0
#9
@hammed :
thanks hammed, nothing wrong with my digium tdm400 card (2xfxs + 2xfxo,i forgot the type in exact) and ext. to ext. is already tested too. nothing wrong with the hardware or software. problem only why the hardware does'nt want to follow my order to faster the dtmf timing frequency (between tone duration).

@dicko:
that was coincidence where when i copy paste the config at the time I have the 60ms for the toneduration. I also tested the 60,70,80,90,100,120,130,140..up to 300ms but seems the digium fxo trunk dial at the same speed.
and how to overide the digium tdm400 card dtmf time speed?

Awaiting your respond soon and thank you.

Best regards,
Ismed
 

dicko

Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
4,099
Likes
0
Points
0
#10
Actually I'm awaiting your response t
:
. . .What do you exactly believe a dahdi "reload" entails? . . .
 

ismed

Joined
Oct 1, 2009
Messages
120
Likes
0
Points
0
#11
hi dicko,
sorry to comeback late to you...
what i believe to dahdi reload entail is to reload all the parameter that we assigned to variable on all the configuration files of asterisk...

is that the answer of your question?

so what is the relation of this question to how to change the dtmf dial tone speed?

awaiting to your respond and thank you.

best regards,
ismed
 

dicko

Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
4,099
Likes
0
Points
0
#12
Thank you , It is your answer to my question, however it is an incorrect answer, had you actually read about any of this stuff you would now know that the the dahdi driver needs restarting for many changes in that file to take effect as I stated specifically. until you find those instructions I suggest you just reboot your computer as it will have the same effect, it justs takes longer, perhaps you can usefully use that time to do a little research?
 

Members online

Latest posts

Forum statistics

Threads
30,898
Messages
130,879
Members
17,560
Latest member
manuelc
Top