FrogFax 1.8 for Windows, anyone?

mxnerd

Joined
Jun 17, 2009
Messages
12
Likes
0
Points
0
#1
Does anyone use FrogFax? It's free and can be downloaded here. http://www.frogfax.com/modules/spxdownl ... .php?cid=1

However, after installation on XP, I was never able to preview the PDF fax file, the program always complained that it can not find the PDF file.

Did a local machine install http://www.frogfax.com/modules/spxsecti ... ?itemid=13. And configured RedMon as illustrated here http://www.frogfax.com/modules/spxsecti ... ?itemid=15.



Ghostscript has been configured exactly like pictured. I even installed standalone Ghostscript 8.6.4, but it did not help.





The fax postscript .PS file was created under \PS directory , but the .PDF file was not and when I clicked Document Preview button, it can't be found in \PDF directory.

The FrogFax client looks excellent, and I would really like to see the Document Preview work.

Anyone able to share his experience with FrogFax? Thanks.
 

ramoncio

Joined
May 12, 2010
Messages
1,663
Likes
0
Points
0
#2
I tried it some time ago.
But I suggest you try yajhfc.

http://yajhfc.berlios.de/

It is the best Windows client I've found so far.
 

mxnerd

Joined
Jun 17, 2009
Messages
12
Likes
0
Points
0
#3
Thanks. I have installed yajhfc client but don't know how to add users and was not able to connect to Hylafax.

Is faxadduser command the only way to add fax users? so are these users separate from system users/pbx extensions? No web user interface?
 

pawels

Joined
May 19, 2008
Messages
51
Likes
0
Points
0
#4
In elastix GUI under Fax>"Fax Clients" you should input fax clients ip.

Regards
 

mxnerd

Joined
Jun 17, 2009
Messages
12
Likes
0
Points
0
#5
I already did that, but it's regarding which PC (IP) can use the fax. In yajhfc client it asked 1. login name, 2. password and 3 admin password.
 

dicko

Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
4,099
Likes
0
Points
0
#6
Hylafax supplies

faxadduser

(man faxadduser)

or go the Avantfax way and do it the pretty way.
 

mxnerd

Joined
Jun 17, 2009
Messages
12
Likes
0
Points
0
#7
Thanks dicko.

I'm Windows guy and really don't have much experience with Linux.

I've tried to read through the "AVANTFAX is a MUST!" thread, but still very vague about how to install Avantfax.

according to this rafael's post
http://www.elastix.org/index.php?option ... =140#24869

It seems all I need is to run the follwoing command, is that correct?
yum --nogpgcheck localinstall elastix-avantfax-3.1.6-beta2.noarch.rpm

But after running above command, at the end the console told me that
Cannot open file: elastix-avantfax-3.1.6-beta2.noarch.rpm Skipping
Nothing to do.


I'm using 32bit version.
 

dicko

Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
4,099
Likes
0
Points
0
#8

Bob

Joined
Nov 4, 2007
Messages
2,400
Likes
1
Points
36
#9
mxnerd

First of all, before doing anything, setup a virtual fax via the Elastix GUI. Ideally make sure it is working by receiving a fax via that interface. You can setup more afterwards if needed, but tryng to keep this short and sweet.

If all working then proceed with the next steps at the Linux prompt.

Code:
cd /usr/src

yum -y install ImageMagick ImageMagick-devel expect netpbm-progs rsync sudo php-pecl-Fileinfo php-pear*

wget http://www.lolacolay.com/ramon/elastix-avantfax-3.1.6-beta2.noarch.rpm

rpm -ivh elastix-avantfax-3.1.6-beta2.noarch.rpm
I have done this now on several machines (two in production), working fine.

To check it is working, http://{YourELastixIPAddress}/avantfax

Regards

Bob
 

mxnerd

Joined
Jun 17, 2009
Messages
12
Likes
0
Points
0
#10
Thanks BOb. I did already setup the extension for Virtual Fax but haven't test it yet since I just got a IPKall DID number last night.

I saw this thread and installed Avantfax 3.1.4 before your reply.

http://www.elastix.org/index.php?option ... rt=0#12174

when I ran the last command rpm -ivh elastix-avantfax-3.1.6-beta2.noarch.rpm it complains it conflicts with 3.1.4.

Guess there is a proper way to upgrade to 3.1.6?

Thanks again.

Regards,
 

dicko

Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
4,099
Likes
0
Points
0
#11
rpm -Uvh elastix-avantfax-3.1.6-beta2.noarch.rpm


will update
 

mxnerd

Joined
Jun 17, 2009
Messages
12
Likes
0
Points
0
#12
Thanks dicko, that does the job.

And thanks for all who helped.
 

mxnerd

Joined
Jun 17, 2009
Messages
12
Likes
0
Points
0
#13

ramoncio

Joined
May 12, 2010
Messages
1,663
Likes
0
Points
0
#14
I already sent the Avantfax rpm to Bruno, I hope they'll include it soon in the elastix-extras repository.

In order to manually add fax users you should do in the bash prompt:

faxadduser -a adminpassword -p userpassword username

change adminpassword, userpassword and username for the ones you want.
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest posts

Forum statistics

Threads
30,942
Messages
130,964
Members
17,638
Latest member
washingtongomez
Top