FrogFax 1.8 for Windows, anyone?

Discussion in 'General' started by mxnerd, Jun 28, 2009.

  1. mxnerd

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does anyone use FrogFax? It's free and can be downloaded here. http://www.frogfax.com/modules/spxdownl ... .php?cid=1

    However, after installation on XP, I was never able to preview the PDF fax file, the program always complained that it can not find the PDF file.

    Did a local machine install http://www.frogfax.com/modules/spxsecti ... ?itemid=13. And configured RedMon as illustrated here http://www.frogfax.com/modules/spxsecti ... ?itemid=15.



    Ghostscript has been configured exactly like pictured. I even installed standalone Ghostscript 8.6.4, but it did not help.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    The fax postscript .PS file was created under \PS directory , but the .PDF file was not and when I clicked Document Preview button, it can't be found in \PDF directory.

    The FrogFax client looks excellent, and I would really like to see the Document Preview work.

    Anyone able to share his experience with FrogFax? Thanks.
     
  2. ramoncio

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,663
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried it some time ago.
    But I suggest you try yajhfc.

    http://yajhfc.berlios.de/

    It is the best Windows client I've found so far.
     
  3. mxnerd

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks. I have installed yajhfc client but don't know how to add users and was not able to connect to Hylafax.

    Is faxadduser command the only way to add fax users? so are these users separate from system users/pbx extensions? No web user interface?
     
  4. pawels

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    In elastix GUI under Fax>"Fax Clients" you should input fax clients ip.

    Regards
     
  5. mxnerd

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I already did that, but it's regarding which PC (IP) can use the fax. In yajhfc client it asked 1. login name, 2. password and 3 admin password.
     
  6. dicko

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hylafax supplies

    faxadduser

    (man faxadduser)

    or go the Avantfax way and do it the pretty way.
     
  7. mxnerd

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks dicko.

    I'm Windows guy and really don't have much experience with Linux.

    I've tried to read through the "AVANTFAX is a MUST!" thread, but still very vague about how to install Avantfax.

    according to this rafael's post
    http://www.elastix.org/index.php?option ... =140#24869

    It seems all I need is to run the follwoing command, is that correct?
    yum --nogpgcheck localinstall elastix-avantfax-3.1.6-beta2.noarch.rpm

    But after running above command, at the end the console told me that
    Cannot open file: elastix-avantfax-3.1.6-beta2.noarch.rpm Skipping
    Nothing to do.


    I'm using 32bit version.
     
  8. dicko

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    0
  9. Bob

    Bob

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,400
    Likes Received:
    1
    mxnerd

    First of all, before doing anything, setup a virtual fax via the Elastix GUI. Ideally make sure it is working by receiving a fax via that interface. You can setup more afterwards if needed, but tryng to keep this short and sweet.

    If all working then proceed with the next steps at the Linux prompt.

    Code:
    cd /usr/src
    
    yum -y install ImageMagick ImageMagick-devel expect netpbm-progs rsync sudo php-pecl-Fileinfo php-pear*
    
    wget http://www.lolacolay.com/ramon/elastix-avantfax-3.1.6-beta2.noarch.rpm
    
    rpm -ivh elastix-avantfax-3.1.6-beta2.noarch.rpm
    I have done this now on several machines (two in production), working fine.

    To check it is working, http://{YourELastixIPAddress}/avantfax

    Regards

    Bob
     
  10. mxnerd

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks BOb. I did already setup the extension for Virtual Fax but haven't test it yet since I just got a IPKall DID number last night.

    I saw this thread and installed Avantfax 3.1.4 before your reply.

    http://www.elastix.org/index.php?option ... rt=0#12174

    when I ran the last command rpm -ivh elastix-avantfax-3.1.6-beta2.noarch.rpm it complains it conflicts with 3.1.4.

    Guess there is a proper way to upgrade to 3.1.6?

    Thanks again.

    Regards,
     
  11. dicko

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    rpm -Uvh elastix-avantfax-3.1.6-beta2.noarch.rpm


    will update
     
  12. mxnerd

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks dicko, that does the job.

    And thanks for all who helped.
     
  13. mxnerd

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
  14. ramoncio

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,663
    Likes Received:
    0
    I already sent the Avantfax rpm to Bruno, I hope they'll include it soon in the elastix-extras repository.

    In order to manually add fax users you should do in the bash prompt:

    faxadduser -a adminpassword -p userpassword username

    change adminpassword, userpassword and username for the ones you want.
     

Share This Page