Firefox can't establish a connection to the server

Joined
Aug 4, 2008
Messages
45
Points
0
Hi,

I'm new to PBX & elastix but we've managed to get phones working. I'm trying to get OpenFire to start to no avail. I managed to get through the Java heap space issue by adding -Xmx512m to the init.d/openfire file & then rebooted the system. Now I get the error "Firefox can't establish a connection to the server at localhost:9090". I don't know what to do to move forward at this point. Our pbx system is running on a dedicated machine using Asterisk & elastix.

I would appreciate any help. Thanks, Steve
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2007
Messages
8,069
Points
88
What's your Openfire's Version?

I have the 3.5.2 and FireFox 3.
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2008
Messages
45
Points
0
I have Firefox 3.0.1

& I believe OpenFire is 4.5. It's whatever came packaged with my elastix-1.11-8-11ago 2008.iso. I haven't done an upgrade to OpenFire 5.1 yet. I'm so new to the whole pbx world at this point updates worry me. It all has to be done on our production box & if I break it I'm not sure I'll be able to fix it.

If I do the upgrades are you thinking it will work for me?

Thanks, Steve
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2007
Messages
8,069
Points
88
It's impossible, because the last version is 3.6.0a...
So..... I don't know why 5.1..???
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2008
Messages
45
Points
0
Sorry for stupid newbie questions but how do I update it or what's the best way? Will I need to terminal into the box or can i do it through elastix somehow?
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2008
Messages
45
Points
0
Okay, I'm downloading OpenFire version 3.6.0a-1.i386.rpm onto my mac. Once it's downloaded can I use the Load Module page in elastix. Will that upload and install it?
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2008
Messages
45
Points
0
Okay, Thanks for all your help. Sleep well & I'll let you know what happens. I'm just enjoying lunch. Still have half the day to go.
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2007
Messages
8,069
Points
88
:)

You must connect just with a ssh connection (telnet secure), from your MAC.
I don't know how used ssh program from MAC, but if it's Unix OS, (BSD), with the ssh command, must be ok.
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2008
Messages
45
Points
0
Hey danardf,

It worked great! It wouldn't let me update it using rpm when I used wget to download it. When I copied it over from my local machine & I used rpm -Uvh etc it worked great.

It looks good, now I just need to see what I can do with openfire.

Thanks again for you help, Steve
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2008
Messages
45
Points
0
Holy Crap,

So everything looked great but now when I log into my astrisk box using my browser(Firefox 3.0.1) it takes me directly to openfire. I've lost the ability to go my elastix interface at all. It flashes up for a split second & then goes right to the openfire login page. Not what I was looking for. I can't get to the elastix interface. What do I need to do to get that back?

The url displayed is:
http://xx.xx.xx.xxx:9090/login.jsp?url=%2Findex.jsp

------------------------------------------------------

Okay not as bad as I thought. I closed down Firefox & reopened it & can get to the elastix interface but as soon as I log into OpenFire it won't let me get back to the elastix interface. I have to close the browser completely, reopen it & then I can get there. Seems kind of weird. Any ideas?

Looking forward to your help. Thanks, Steve
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2007
Messages
8,069
Points
88
Yes i have the same little problem.
When i clic on IM, there are the full page OpenFire and not Elastix menu on the top.

Maybe there is missing frame into an openfire file.!
Myself, i add Elastix link into personal firefox bar.

It's a minor problem ;)
 

Members online

No members online now.

Forum statistics

Threads
30,992
Messages
131,106
Members
17,716
Latest member
Orbit114
Top