External SIP/IAX extension.

Discussion in 'General' started by jimikid2002, Jun 20, 2010.

  1. jimikid2002

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi All,

    Need help again.

    My elastix server is behind NAT. I can access ssh/http/https from any where over internet. I forwarded 5060 and can use a extension from a real IP (same ISP who gave me connection at office router/NAT box). When I try to register an extension from else where (another NATed host, i.e from a public wifi hot-spot) it is not registering. Can anyone suggest what to do?


    Regards
    Jimi
     
  2. danardf

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    8,069
    Likes Received:
    12
    Hi.

    Maybe you haven't set the DNS!?
    Put some parameters into sip_nat.conf too.
    localnet=192.168.1.0/255.255.255.0
    externip=your_public_ip or
    exernhost=your_domain

    Set nat=yes into every remote extension.

    Else, that's all.
     
  3. danardf

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    8,069
    Likes Received:
    12
    hoo ....it's only for the SIP protocol.

    About the IAX2:
    IAX2 not need the nat config (nat=yes/no) and the rtp port.
    IAX2 use only one port. ;)
     
  4. jimikid2002

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Dan, I tried all you said for SIP extensions. It seems that the ISP is blocking SIP (5060 to 5065) ports. Is there any way to call directly from Elastix web-GUI? I mean, in address book there are call buttons (green handset) but is it possible to make a call from this page? Or is there anything else available ????
     
  5. danardf

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    8,069
    Likes Received:
    12
    If your ISP is locking some port 5060 at 5065, you could take another port 5070 for example. If isn't the SIP protocol instead of port. :huh:
    Else, you could try to use an IAX2 protocol (with a softphone). The port is 4569.

    Yes you could use the button to call from ELastix Web GUI. but you should be registered into Elastix with your extension!
     
  6. jimikid2002

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    It worked ....... An IAX extension saved my day...... It was very easy and straight forward solution. Thanks dear, I am glad.
     
  7. danardf

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    8,069
    Likes Received:
    12
    Good news. :)

    Regards
     
  8. sertody

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Frank
    I'm beginner of IP PBX systems
    I learn about IP PBX from Elastix web site.
    I have PBX under NAT and 1 remote extension gxp2010 outside,(not work)
    because I 'not able the setup the properly registration in Elastix ?

    Can you help me ?
    *
    I can see and manage properly the PBX from outside at : http://xxxpbx.dyndns-ip.com
    *
    I setup :

    sip_nat.conf

    nat = yes
    externhost = xxxpbx.dyndns-ip.com
    localnet = 192.168.1.0/255.255.255.0
    externrefresh = 10
    *
    Routers which is 192.168.1.1 and I opened the ports :

    SIP = 5004 / 5082 to pbx 192.168.1.111
    rtp = 10000 / 20000 to pbx 192.168.1.111
    *

    I set the remote station gxp2010:

    sip server = xxxpbx.dyndns-ip.com
    sip user id = xxx
    authanticate id = xxx
    authanticate pw = xxx
    thanks in advance
     

Share This Page