eth0: Unknown interface: No Such device

Discussion in 'General' started by Kripto, Mar 27, 2010.

1. Kripto

Hi everyone

I'm new to the forum and need some advice.

I have a test pc that i just installed elastix on, it has an on board network card: Chipset VIA VT6103.

When i tried to allocate an ip address to eth0 it couldn't pick up the network card, i take it asterisk didn't install the drivers?

Firstly i must say that i am very new to asterisk but i really want to learn so forgive my noobness.

Thanks for your time.

2. Kalama Sutra

Kripto,

Any chance you test box also has a NIC card added ? I had something similar with my test box < which is also my test box for Shorewall firewall-router, internal & 2 NIC's> ... my elastix install recognized one of the NIC's as eth0.

Might be worth a try.

JIm

3. Kripto

Hey Jim

No, there is definitely only one card installed and that is the on board network card. Thanks for the suggestion though..

4. Bob

Bob

Kripto,

It is most likely that the Network card driver you need is not compiled into the current Elastix kernel (which is not all that old).

I could recommend that you locate the drivers, recompile the kernel and away you go. Easier to say, but for a noob, unless you give yourself a few weeks, sleepless nights, a thousand questions, it is not going to happen...even I struggle with it on occasions...

I could recommend that you look for DLKM - Dynamically Loaded Kernel Module and see if the card manufacturer has produced a driver for this method, but I will be honest, it is still a pain if you are not used to this method. But a possibility for noob

So the following are realistic answers for your dilemma

1) Download Elastix 2.0 beta/rc and see if it recognises the card.
    If it does, then you know when Elastix 2.0 comes out as stable, it will be supported. This suitability will depend on how quick you want your box built or is it non-critical at the moment that you can work with an RC build....