eth0 fails at bootup

jcash99

newbie here, eth0 fails at bootup, fresh install on new machine. tried installing ubuntu 8.10 to see if nic was bad but it worked fine. reinstalled elastix same problem. tried online help and elastix without tears but i am stuck at root@elastix ~]# any help would be greatly appreciated

Bob

Jcash99,

It is possible that support for your NIC is not compiled in the Centos kernel. The quickest way to solve it is to install a well known NIC such as a Realtek 8139, or Intel Pro 100. The reason UBUNTU is working is that the support for this NIC is built in, especially in version 8.10

Can you perform the following command

lspci -v

and post any info relating to the Ethernet Controller

Regards

Bob

jcash99

thanks bob for the response
i don't know how to dump the command to a file but it comes up realtek rtl8111/8168b. also have a sangoma a200 installed if that makes any difference.

Chilling_Silence

You're in luck, the rtl8111 are easy to compile from source, and elastix has everything you'll need to compile it out-of-the-box, unlike other distro's.

So, goto here: http://www.realtek.com.tw/downloads/dow ... wnTypeID=3

Download the driver for the 2.6 kernel.
Copy it to a thumbdrive / memory stick
Chuck the thumbdrive / memory stick into your Elastix box
Mount it
Extract the driver with tar
change into the dir, and IIRC all you need to do is run:
make && make install
depmod -a
insmod src/rtl8111.ko

If in doubt, read the README or INSTALL file they included with the driver. Make sure you run depmod -a after a make install or it wont auto-load on boot :)

Cheers

Chill.

Bob

These cards also have a DKMS Driver. I have some notes around here somewhere, but in the middle of something at the moment.

DKMS is a method of implementing a driver without rebuilding the kernel. Basically you install an RPM that installs the DKMS base, and then you install DKMS driver (in your case a network card). At that point your system recognises the card.