Error asterisk - several errors - WOOMERA

Discussion in 'General' started by danardf, Jul 17, 2009.

  1. danardf

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    8,069
    Likes Received:
    12
    I have several Asterisk error like that:
    Code:
    **[WOOMERA]** Receive Message: {default} [localhost/42420]
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    What's going on?
     
  2. dicko

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's the sangoma driver


    unload chan_woomera.so from asterisk cli

    and add
    noload => chan_woomera.so

    to
    /etc/asterisk/modules.conf
    if you don't have a sangoma BRI card
     
  3. danardf

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    8,069
    Likes Received:
    12
    already awake Dicko?

    Ok thanks, it's good. ;)
     
  4. Patrick_elx

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,120
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had the same problem more than a week ago after a yum update..

    I've read a few others complaining about the same issue on another thread.
     
  5. dicko

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sangoma promise to have it fixed when the install package gets out of beta.
     
  6. virusbcn

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes this is an error, in my PBX in two weeks 10 Gb of logs errors.
     
  7. donpuck

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    dicko
    Excellent info. It solved my problem and saved 8 gig of disk space.
    You are a God among men. Thank you.
     
  8. dicko

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    for others who are in danger of running out of disk space (your system will grind to a halt when that happens, I got 8g a day in the log files after an apparently innocent yum update on one small system with a 20g HDD before I noticed it)

    I suggest:

    rasterisk -x 'unload chan_woomera.so' && rasterisk -x 'logger rotate' && rm -rf /var/log/asterisk/full.* && echo "noload => chan_woomera.so" >> /etc/asterisk/modules.conf && df -h


    from the bash shell as an immediate sledgehammer quick fix.

    I think Sangoma and/or the Elastix rpm maintainers need to fix this ASAP before Elastix systems start crashing

    (JM2CW as ever)
     
  9. ncorbic

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    This error occurs when chan_woomera is loaded but not used.
    Is that correct?

    chan_woomera will attempt to connect to a sangoma server
    every 5 seconds and if it fails it will log the event.

    Its an important event so we cannot just turn it off :)

    Probably best solution is to not load chan_woomera and
    only load it when you intend to use it.

    This is a problem though if chan_woomera is pre-configured
    and loaded by default.

    Can you confirm that this is the scenario ?

    Nenad
     
  10. dicko

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can confirm that after a yum update with the Elastix repos then chan_woomera is indeed loaded, whether you need it or not (I have no sangoma hardware at all, so to me it's far less important than the problem it causes).

    And yes under those circumstances it is verbose to the point of a burgeoning and possibly critical failure in smaller systems, further, the logged "event" occurs far more often then every 5 seconds.

    Nonetheless I thank you for your post, and assume a timely resolution. :)
     
  11. ncorbic

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok well that is a problem.

    We will get on it right away and have a better way of
    handling it.

    Thank you for the info.

    Nenad
     
  12. jcardinal

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    I also had this problem and the logs were growing out of control. I followed dicko's instruction to unload chan_woomera.so (thanks!) and things were much improved. I wanted to recover the disk space but didn't want to lose my log info by doing "rm -rf /var/log/asterisk/full.*", so I set out to remove the offending entries to clean up the logs.

    I could get rid of the actual error message with the following:
    Code:
    cat full.1 | grep -v WOOMERA > full.1clean
    However, this annoying error also manages to clutter the logs even more by adding a line of dashes after itself, then two blank lines. My grep-fu proved weak in finding and removing those lines, so I crafted the following after a bit of googling:
    Code:
    awk '/WOOMERA/{c=4}!(c&&c--)' full.1 > full.1clean
    The command removes 4 lines each time it encounters the search pattern, so the error line is removed along with the dash line and two blank lines. I am not very good with awk, so if someone can confirm this command is doing what I think it is, please let us know.

    Once you've done this, you may decide to delete the cluttered logs and replace them with the cleaned ones. Just make sure your new cleaned log files have the correct ownership and permissions.
     
  13. speedy3k

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Something I like to do is to mount /var/log to its own partition. That way when something like this happens, I don't have to worry about it crashing the system.
     
  14. ncorbic

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    New rpm release has updated wancfg_smg.

    The new wancfg_smg will add noload=chan_woomera into asterisk config files
    if woomera is not used.

    Is this sufficient ?
    The only problem I see with this is if you never run wancfg_smg
    but chan_woomera is still loaded by default.

    I think that elastix guys should set noload=>chan_woomera by default
    and wancfg_smg will enable it if the customer has decided to use
    a sangoma product.

    Nenad
     
  15. jcardinal

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    speedy3k: Smart! I'll have to keep that in mind when I set up systems in the future.

    ncorbic: I'm not sure who is responsible for the actual message being logged, but if that's something you have control over...why is every entry 4 lines? You've got the actual error, then a line of dashes, then two blank lines. If that could be fixed too, that would help a lot.
     
  16. rafael

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,454
    Likes Received:
    1

Share This Page