Enpoint in Elastix 2.0

Discussion in 'General' started by MST, Sep 30, 2010.

  1. MST

    MST

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there any way to fix that endpoint configuration scan the network that is in VPN?

    All networks see each other , can ping all. However; can only scan the network where Elastix sits.
     
  2. dicko

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    That would depend on how your VPN is configured, the endpoint configurator uses nmap, nmap needs arp to be transparent through the network , unless you allow that on your VPN (most won't for obvious reasons) it just won't work. VPN's expose layer 3 networks generally not layer 2.
     
  3. MST

    MST

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use pfsense for VPN. So far it works ok.

    Thank You dicko for replying.

    MST
     
  4. Lee Sharp

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am a m0n0wall dev (The root of pfSense, and a lot of the same people) and an active nmap user. If you have the VPN configured in the best way possible, an nmap scan of your VPN IP will detect the mac of the pfSense LAN port. So, not, it won't work. Sorry... Just the way Ethernet works.
     
  5. dicko

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't know whether it still pertains but getting tftp through a pfsense working as a nat box was certainly problematic in the past. There was work on a tftpd proxy
     
  6. trymes

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    FWIW, we have 9 networks connected to our LAN via IPSec, and TFTP works just fine over the IPSec links. Just upgraded a pile of Cisco 7940s over the VPN.

    Doesn't work for the endpoint configurator, I don't think, though. Endpoint Config doesn't seem to see the Ciscos anyway, though.

    Tom
     

Share This Page