Endpoint Configuration not working

Discussion in 'General' started by gdormm, Mar 31, 2009.

  1. gdormm

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi have elastix 1.3-2 i am trying to make endpoint configuration module to scan my network 10.10.10.0/24 in which i have my Linksys phones registered.When i press the scan button no end points are shown.

    This is manual nmap execute in asterisk account on the pbx:

    bash-3.2$ sudo nmap -sP --send-ip -n 10.10.10.0/24

    Starting Nmap 4.11 ( http://www.insecure.org/nmap/ ) at 2009-03-31 16:53 EEST
    Host 10.10.10.249 appears to be up.
    Host 10.10.10.250 appears to be up.
    Host 10.10.10.251 appears to be up.
    Host 10.10.10.253 appears to be up.
    Host 10.10.10.254 appears to be up.
    Nmap finished: 256 IP addresses (5 hosts up) scanned in 1.431 seconds

    This is from asterisk CLI:

    pbx*CLI> sip show peers
    Name/username Host Dyn Nat ACL Port Status
    350/350 10.10.10.250 D 5060 OK (13 ms)
    344/344 10.10.10.253 D 5060 OK (11 ms)
    343/343 10.10.10.249 D 5060 OK (11 ms)
    341/341 10.10.10.251 D 5060 OK (13 ms)
    340/340 10.10.10.254 D 5060 OK (10 ms)
    10 sip peers [Monitored: 5 online, 0 offline Unmonitored: 0 online, 0 offline]


    The network is like this:

    Asterisk(172.16.1.20)---------FireWall----------EndPoints(10.10.10.0/24)

    Firewall is transparent for this traffic.
    Asterisk version is Asterisk 1.4.22-rc5.
    Any help will be appreciated.
     
  2. vtofa

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Your firewall probably prevents MAC addresses from being passed through. You can see this easily by typing arp -an at the Elastix prompt. If the Linksys phones MAC addresses are visible, you will see them in the output. If not, your Firewall is blocking them.
     
  3. gdormm

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    You are right, dam!I don't see their mac's in arp table on elastix.It seams that not the FW but the switch connected to elastix is sending it's mac address instead of the phones.How is this posible?Thanks for the help.
     
  4. thecompwiz

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    MAC Addresses are only "locally significant" ... rough translation, unless it's in the same network segment, you will not ever communicate with the device by mac address. I've ran into that same problem... and also started a complete re-write (might become a new module) of the endpoint manager... to implement exactly that. (i.e. probe the phone in different ways to get additional information... from sip... or perhaps http queries... or a mix) Additionally, there still should be an option to add endpoints manually... but who knows... this is a common question... and it seems nobody else wants to address it.
     
  5. gdormm

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes you are right for sadness. This is a common problem because a good network design will always put the ip-pbx in dmz zone and this means trusted zone will not have the luxury to have L2 communication with the DMZ zone.Sadly i am not a programmer and can help you with this idea to have a couple ways to address the phones in the network.I am not sure why the developers have missed this but i think they will see it as a good idea, dont know why others dont address it as well?:blink:

    Any way may be a good way to communicate with the phones will be a L3 followed by HTTP request after that with the proper user name and password which will allow to grep all the info needed for the phone to be added as endpoint in Elastix.Maybe also scanning some opened ports on the phone could give some info of it's model and protocol.:huh:
     

Share This Page