Elastix with E1/T1

qbik

Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
34
Likes
0
Points
0
#1
Hi,
This may sound as a silly question but i'll be glad if some of the expirienced people could help me.
I have a Elastix 2.0 server with a Rhino E1/T1 card. This Hotel has a switch that has another E1 card. Now if I interconect both, can I assignt the elastix server as an internal extension and push calls out via a trunk? Now would this trunk be able to handle the possible 24 concurrent calls or would that depends on the provider?

Thanks
 

dicko

Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
4,099
Likes
0
Points
0
#2
http://www.voip-info.org/wiki/view/Aste ... ntegration

should get you started, but you probably want to assign the Asterisk box as a trunk on the PBX not extensions. Make that trunk from-internal as to context as change the timing to be suit the T1 on the PBX. (all explained in the link)

dicko
 

qbik

Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
34
Likes
0
Points
0
#3
Thanks for this information, I'll give it a try. As far as the simultaneous call capacity? Do I have to add channels to the 2 pre-configured by my provider on this SIP trunk?
 

fmvillares

Joined
Sep 8, 2007
Messages
1,785
Likes
0
Points
0
#4
hi there try to read first what dicko said and then with the concepts in place review your PBX...one hint t1 es 23 channels in isdn type signalling e1 is 30 channels

best regards
 

dicko

Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
4,099
Likes
0
Points
0
#5
But many legacy PBX's and T1's here in NANP land are configured e&m wink and all 24 ds0 are usable, you need to match the signaling also between the PBX and Elastix, if you have ISDN licensed on your PBX then that is the most efficient and quickest method.
 

fmvillares

Joined
Sep 8, 2007
Messages
1,785
Likes
0
Points
0
#6
as dicko again said cas t1 lines (not isdn) uses the 24 channels in 56 kbps mode the other 8 kb are robbed by channel signalling and uses e&m signalling...

often used in channel bank connections....
 

qbik

Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
34
Likes
0
Points
0
#7
I am at this again, Comunication has been established between Elastix PBX with a Rhino E1T1 card, however, signaling is not going out. The PABX is a Matra NeXspan, anyone has any expirience with this? I've been told it is configured as QSIG PRI, is this the way is supossed to be?
 

dicko

Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
4,099
Likes
0
Points
0
#8
use pri-net signalling on the trunk to the PBX
 

qbik

Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
34
Likes
0
Points
0
#9
Is this to be configured on Elastix?
 

dicko

Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
4,099
Likes
0
Points
0
#10

qbik

Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
34
Likes
0
Points
0
#11
Thanks for all your help, I finally got it working with QSIG PRI
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest posts

Forum statistics

Threads
30,902
Messages
130,887
Members
17,566
Latest member
Fpino
Top