elastix v1.6 freepbx 2.5

icenews

Joined
Sep 3, 2010
Messages
37
Likes
0
Points
0
#1
Hi

I see that Freepbx 2.5 is running under Elastix V1.6

Any opinions on upgrading the Freepbx to maybe 2.6, 2.7, or 2.8 ?

Any issues ?


Thanks
Walt
 

dicko

Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
4,099
Likes
0
Points
0
#2
Many issues, you are NOT allowed to do that by Elastix, it will break everything on the next yum update in 1.6 , They know what you need far better than you and have re-packaged FreePBX for you, so just don't do it OK?

(on the other hand and you want to go rogue, you can search the fora for exclude=Freepbx for a possible work around ;) )
 

icenews

Joined
Sep 3, 2010
Messages
37
Likes
0
Points
0
#3
ok

Is there a fast way of uploading extensions & routes into a new box ?

The reason I ask - is that later versions of pbx have the ability to download and upload extensions.

Thanks
Walt
 

dicko

Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
4,099
Likes
0
Points
0
#4
I suggest you use the now mainstream but previously "third-party" FreePBX addons "Bulk-DIDS" and Bulk-extensions", but realize you are "breaking the Elastix rules" the Elastix version will only do SIP extensions, and that nort well, there is no methodology available for DID's.

If you care to you can use the Unembedded FreePBX bakup restore/process the files will be in /var/lib/asterisk/backup/<whatever you called it>

move it to the new machine, restore it ( you will revert to the old version of everything so restart all your services) then update using the FreePBX way, and you are of to the races (albeit sans Elastix' sanction)

(This WFM but make backups, make backups of backups and have a bootable image restoration ability in place (I suggest mondoarchive), I can't fix anything YOU do wrong :) )

dicko
 

icenews

Joined
Sep 3, 2010
Messages
37
Likes
0
Points
0
#5
Hi

This is a fresh install - so I can always start all over again.
Is there no other way than to simply input all of the settings one at a time ?

How about the Elastix upgrade - do I perform this any ?
The version I am using is V1.6 as of Oct of 2009.
I'm sure there are updates since then - do you agree ?

Thanks
Walt
 

dicko

Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
4,099
Likes
0
Points
0
#6
I edited my post as to what is possible.

"Do you agree?" hmm, you are probably asking the wrong guy here Elastix 1.6 is absolutely hardcoded stuck at FreePBX 2.5.2-5rc. any attempt to update FreePBX past that will immediately break your box on the next yum update it will revert you to their patched version of 2.5.2-5rc, at least until they update the 1.6 repos . if it's not broke don't fix it, (is your box broke?) Elastix 2.0 is in NO way a fix, it is also as yet broken, I suspect that our benefactors PaloSanto aren't too pleased with me right now so I will say no more here ;)

Pretty well a Catch-22 here (apart from the work-arounds, previously mentioned) sorry.

dicko
 

icenews

Joined
Sep 3, 2010
Messages
37
Likes
0
Points
0
#7
Hi

What is the normal procedure in updating Elastix.

I downloaded the 1.6 ISO (dated Oct 2009)

Can I do a repository update ?

Thanks
Walt
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest posts

Forum statistics

Threads
30,902
Messages
130,887
Members
17,567
Latest member
achilont13
Top