Elastix on PowerEdge 2950

Discussion in 'General' started by Gonzalez, Oct 30, 2008.

  1. Gonzalez

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, I'm beginning with Elastix, and I just want to know if Elastix would run over a PowerEdge 2950, I mean, if it's gonna recognize the Raid and everything else.

    Thanx,

    Gonzalez
     
  2. sergiogm2000

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Let me remind you that Elastix it's not an OS itself, that means it depends on CENTOS to run, being said that you should be able to use any kind of hardware CentOS support and I googled that server and it shows that they supported it since CentOS 4.3 (Elastix has Centos 5.2).

    I hope I solved your question.B)
     
  3. jades

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have had success on this server, but its VERY powerful. Dont get something you dont need. Take a look a the Rhino Ceros. Great boxes and elastix can come preinstalled.
     
  4. nachogomez

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, I'm runnig Elastix 1.3-2 on a Dell PowerEdge 2950, I't works great so far...
     
  5. Gonzalez

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks to everyone, that really help me out :D
     
  6. Bryant

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am currently installing on a PE 2950 and i have 2 74GB 15k rpm dives in RAID and 3 300GB 10k rpm in a RAID. It seems that it only formatted the 300gb drives and installing on those drives. But i want the Elastix install on the 74gb drives. Ill report back but is there any suggestions?
     
  7. rafael

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,454
    Likes Received:
    1

    Elastix is based on CentOS 5.1. 1.4 or 1.6 would be 5.2

    Regards,

    Rafael
     

Share This Page