elastix installation. do i need to first install

j99991

Joined
Dec 16, 2008
Messages
98
Likes
0
Points
0
#1
centos5 before installing elsatix?
or i can install the system directly and tell it to format the hdd?

thanks
j9991
 

Patrick_elx

Joined
Dec 14, 2008
Messages
1,120
Likes
0
Points
0
#2
just boot from the CD, it will format the hard drive and install the OS and everything else.
 

j99991

Joined
Dec 16, 2008
Messages
98
Likes
0
Points
0
#3
understood

thanks patrick
 

j99991

Joined
Dec 16, 2008
Messages
98
Likes
0
Points
0
#4
another question pls.

i noticed that on the side there is a survey of what os people uses.

i would justl ike ask. if elastix formats the pc and installs centos 5 then how come people could use elastix with windows or as a standalone or mac as i saw on the survey?

are they installing vm thier os and the run elastix with it?


thanks
j99991
 

Patrick_elx

Joined
Dec 14, 2008
Messages
1,120
Likes
0
Points
0
#5
yes that's probably about vm or the main OS they are working with, not the one on the server Elastix is installed.
 

j99991

Joined
Dec 16, 2008
Messages
98
Likes
0
Points
0
#6
so in other words i do not have to have a sole pc for this purpose? i can use a machine with windows with an installed vm like vmware ? and then run elastix over it?
i believe this is not such a good option though right? because the vm software will always need to be open and because the machine also used for other purposes.
right?

thanks
 

ramoncio

Joined
May 12, 2010
Messages
1,663
Likes
0
Points
0
#7
It is better if you install it into a dedicated machine, but it can also work in a vm.
If you use vmware you will need to install a custom CentOs kernel that solves the timing and choppy sound issues. Search the forum.
If you use VirtualBox or Xen you can go with the default kernel.
 

j99991

Joined
Dec 16, 2008
Messages
98
Likes
0
Points
0
#8
ok i understand so i will ofcourse rather use the virtualbox then the vmware.
i know that elsatix formates the pc while installing. how can i make sure that by using the vm it will not format the pc or hdd it self?

thanks
 

ramoncio

Joined
May 12, 2010
Messages
1,663
Likes
0
Points
0
#9
RTFM!
 

j99991

Joined
Dec 16, 2008
Messages
98
Likes
0
Points
0
#10
ok

will do
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest posts

Forum statistics

Threads
30,902
Messages
130,887
Members
17,565
Latest member
omarmenichetti
Top