Elastix install issue on a VPS

torontob

Joined
May 18, 2008
Messages
219
Likes
0
Points
0
#1
Hello everyone,

I have rented a VPS to test Elastix on it. I am not sure if they are running XEN, or VmWare but regardless rpm -q kernel gives me:

kernel-2.6.18-53.1.13.el5

I tried installing CentOS2Elastix but mount command tells me that there is no /dev/loop#. So, I checked in /dev/loop# and there was no loop files. So, I give up on that.

Then I tried the following commands to install Elastix per installation instructions but that failed too:

* Add the elastix repository:

Create the file elastix.repo in the path /etc/yum.repos.d and add the next lines:

[elastix]
name=Elastix RPM Repository for CentOS
baseurl=http://repo.elastix.org/centos/$releasever/updates/RPMS/
gpgcheck=0
enabled=1
After creating this file and if you moved to /etc/yum.repos.d, please remember to go back to a writable folder, like /root


* Install elastix and their modules:

yum install asterisk*
yum install elastix-*
yum install freeze
yum install fxload
yum install kernel-module-rhino*
yum install libmfcr2
yum install lzop
yum install perl-HTML-TokeParser-Simple
yum install perl-WWW-Mechanize
If no exists install:

yum install mod_ssl


The failiur happens because "yum install asterisk*" due to the following:

--> Finished Dependency Resolution
Error: Missing Dependency: asterisk = 1:1.4.22.0 is needed by package asterisk-devel
Error: Missing Dependency: asterisk >= 1.2.17 is needed by package asterisk-perl
Error: Missing Dependency: asterisk >= 1:1.4.22.0 is needed by package asterisk-sounds-fr
Error: Missing Dependency: asterisk >= 1.2.15 is needed by package asterisk-sounds
Error: Missing Dependency: asterisk >= 1:1.4.22.0 is needed by package asterisk-sounds-es
Error: Missing Dependency: asterisk >= 1.4.7 is needed by package asterisk-addons


So, I tried "yum install elastix-*" and since Elastix is dependent on Asterisk it won't install either. Then I went directly to Digium and download Asterisk 1.4 and Asterisk-addons 1.4.2. Both installed without a hiccup.

I tried doing "yum install elastix-*" and it failed again. I tried install "yum install Asterisk*" and the same error comes.

WHAT SHOULD I DO TO GET THIS FRUSTRATING MACHINE UP AND RUNNING...........:woohoo:

Thanks :)
 

torontob

Joined
May 18, 2008
Messages
219
Likes
0
Points
0
#2
Bob, would you be able to comment on this please? You are the pro on this probably...
 

donhwyo

Joined
Aug 8, 2008
Messages
293
Likes
0
Points
0
#3
I think that is based on centos 5.1. I tried to install to 5.2 and gave up. Not sure which version you rented.

Don
 

torontob

Joined
May 18, 2008
Messages
219
Likes
0
Points
0
#4
Thanks for the response. Here is what they installed:

[root@vzone256-2 www]# cat /etc/redhat-release
CentOS release 5 (Final)

Apparently in VPS you can't do modprobe mount so that eliminates using CentOS2Elastix. But the VPS I am using also doesn't do modprobe fuse.

Would it not be possible to install Elastix on CentOS 5 final?

thanks
 

carlirosi

Joined
Dec 11, 2008
Messages
10
Likes
0
Points
0
#5
Hello! I did install elastix in a vps. I extract files from the iso a then upload to de vps. run ./install. previus install mkinitrd from yum. Do it and tell us.
 

torontob

Joined
May 18, 2008
Messages
219
Likes
0
Points
0
#6
Great. I will do that. If I try to extract files from within CentOS is there any tool to do that? I will ./install and see what happens but what is the the other step? "mkinitrd from yum"?
 

carlirosi

Joined
Dec 11, 2008
Messages
10
Likes
0
Points
0
#7
There are a lot of tools "winiso" "poweriso" "winrar" for windows. I dont know in linux. The iso image you have to elastix is "ElastiXCorE-1.2.1-12sep2008.iso" then upload to /home or whatever and run install. In my case i needed "mkinitrd" for dependencies, so "yum install mkinitrd" before run ./install.
 

kingbette

Joined
Jan 17, 2009
Messages
3
Likes
0
Points
0
#8
I do it in this way in my XEN vps,
here are some errors during the installation.
----------------------------------------------------
chown: `asterisk.asterisk': invalid user
error: %post(RoundCubeMail-0.2-6.i386) scriptlet failed, exit status 1
Notice: Configuration file is /etc/zaptel.conf
line 0: Unable to open master device '/dev/zap/ctl'

1 error(s) detected
-------------------------------------------------------------

And my kernel in my vps is 2.6.18-92.1.22.el5xen

and after reboot the vps, it gives a message when logging into the system.
-------------------------------------------
For access to the Elastix web GUI use this URL
http://94.*.*.*
-------------------------------------------

But when I access the 94.*.*.*, it shows nothing.

any suggestion? Thanks.
 

torontob

Joined
May 18, 2008
Messages
219
Likes
0
Points
0
#9
I give up. As no Elastix moderator wants to help on this.
 

kingbette

Joined
Jan 17, 2009
Messages
3
Likes
0
Points
0
#10
Do you have the msn or other IM?
what vps provider are you using?
 

torontob

Joined
May 18, 2008
Messages
219
Likes
0
Points
0
#11
I tried it with OpenVZ and someothe (i don't remember what) but it failed. bmnsoftware2 hotmail
 

cracker007

Joined
Jan 20, 2009
Messages
3
Likes
0
Points
0
#12

kingbette

Joined
Jan 17, 2009
Messages
3
Likes
0
Points
0
#13
Re:Elastix Virtual Dedicated

But that would be a little expensive than a normal vps,
Right now, I installed freepbx+asterisk, it works great.
later I'll try to integrate the a2billing.
 

veritech

Joined
Jul 16, 2008
Messages
92
Likes
0
Points
6
#14
Hi,
I have installed Elastix on my test server at GoDaddy (linux VPS w/ 256Mb ram, burstable to 1Gb and 10Gb HDD)

I had to download the Centos2Elastix iso extract it with 7-zip, re-zip it and upload it to the VPS.
extract it there and run the install. I did have issues with it creating the local repository.

I modified the install script to:

echo -e "\nCreating Elastix Core repository"
#Crear repo local para elastix
echo "[elastix-core]" > /etc/yum.repos.d/$file_repo
echo "name=Elastix RPM Repository for CentOS" >> /etc/yum.repos.d/$file_repo
echo "baseurl=http://repo.elastix.org/centos/5/updates/RPMS/" >> /etc/yum.repos.d/$file_repo
echo "gpgcheck=0" >> /etc/yum.repos.d/$file_repo
echo "enabled=1" >> /etc/yum.repos.d/$file_repo

It will download all the necessary files from the repos and install. Works great


Joe
 

galexander

Joined
Nov 24, 2008
Messages
15
Likes
0
Points
0
#15
y'all should be able to do this in the VPS (OpenVZ doesn't work, use Xen VPS):
Code:
mkdir -p /dev/loop && cd /dev/loop
mknod 0 b 7 0
then do the mount
 

khahuyvu

Joined
Apr 14, 2009
Messages
1
Likes
0
Points
0
#16
help me ! how to make ./install
 

torboy

Joined
Apr 30, 2009
Messages
37
Likes
0
Points
0
#17
I am very new with this !!!

I download Centos2Elastix as mentioned unpacked and changed install file with the script you mentioned, uploaded to VPS. run install script and still no luck

I had 2 questions

1. Should I delete all current files on vps?
2. when I run ./install
this is what I get in CLI

-bash-3.2# ./install
nCreating Elastix Core repository
./install: line 3: /etc/yum.repos.d/: Is a directory
./install: line 4: /etc/yum.repos.d/: Is a directory
./install: line 5: /etc/yum.repos.d/: Is a directory
./install: line 6: /etc/yum.repos.d/: Is a directory
./install: line 7: /etc/yum.repos.d/: Is a directory
 

dicko

Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
4,099
Likes
0
Points
0
#18
Check that the "install" file is in unix format and that you have not converted it to DOS format.

(.
.
nCreating Elastix Core repository.
.
the "n" is suspicious and probably due to a newline interpretation problem.)
 

torboy

Joined
Apr 30, 2009
Messages
37
Likes
0
Points
0
#19
All I have is following command typed in notepad and file name saved as "install"

all in one line

echo -e "nCreating Elastix Core repository"
#Crear repo local para elastix
echo "[elastix-core]" > /etc/yum.repos.d/$file_repo
echo "name=Elastix RPM Repository for CentOS" >> /etc/yum.repos.d/$file_repo
echo "baseurl=repo.elastix.org/centos/5/updates/RPMS/" >> /etc/yum.repos.d/$file_repo
echo "gpgcheck=0" >> /etc/yum.repos.d/$file_repo
echo "enabled=1" >> /etc/yum.repos.d/$file_repo
 

dicko

Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
4,099
Likes
0
Points
0
#20
That's the problem, notepad is a dos(windows) program. you need to use a unix aware text editor so the newlines are saved properly.

The file is not "all in one line" , it's just that notepad thinks it is (see all those little "boxy" characters?, they are the newlines).
further the variable $file_repo is not defined. (it should be "elastix.repo" )

the install file needs
$file_repo=elastix.repo
before the variable is used

I think you should go back to the beginning of the process and read carefully the suggested installation method. Use a text editor in the Virtual machine to create install script that creates the elastix repo file and I'm sure things will go much better.

Good luck and welcome to Elastix!
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest posts

Forum statistics

Threads
30,902
Messages
130,888
Members
17,568
Latest member
mehdii_igi
Top