Elastix cloning

Discussion in 'General' started by apmuthu, Oct 22, 2009.

  1. apmuthu

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    When we clone a Hard disk with an Elastix v1.5.2-2.3 installation (using say Acronis) and restore the image on a different sized Hard disk on a totally different machine, we find that most of Elastix works except the PBX configuration page.

    How and where do we change all three SSH keys?

    Any reason why we get a blank page after logging in at
    Code:
    https://elastix-ip-address/
    and proceeding to the PBX link -
    Code:
    https://elastix-ip-address/?menu=pbxadmin
    or
    Code:
    https://elastix-ip-address/?menu=pbxconfig
    ?

    The
    Code:
    https://elastix-ip-address/?menu=tools
    and other PBX pages work fine though!
     
  2. apmuthu

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    The following critical files were missing in the clone:
    Code:
    /usr/share/pear/DB.php
    /usr/share/pear/DB/* (all except the sqlite3 were missing)
    /usr/share/pear/.registry/db.reg
    /usr/share/pear/.pkgxml/DB.xml
    The folder path and file names are case sensitive.

    Other irrelevant missing files were from:
    Code:
    /usr/share/pear/test/*
    The following command was executed in the clone:
    Code:
    yum install php-pear
    Then the missing files were restored and yum update performed.
    It now works fine!
     
  3. apmuthu

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. apmuthu

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
  5. apmuthu

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    As for changing the SSH keys, the instructions at ProxMox PiaF locks us out of SSH and SFTP and are hence at best incomplete for Elastix.

    Solution: A fresh install of Elastix is done on the target machine on a new hard disk and the contents of the folder /etc/ssh/ are copied from it to the cloned hard disk.

    It works now!

    A possible fresh install in VMWare or KVM may have sufficed as well to extract a new set of SSH keys.
     
  6. apmuthu

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    REF: 1 & 2
    The recent yum update caused CentOS 5.4 to uninstall the php-pear and all its addons and the new pear was installed with only sqlite3 for pear/DB.
    Hence the need to do the following:
    Code:
    pear channel-update pear.php.net
    pear upgrade-all
    pear upgrade --force http://pear.php.net/get/Archive_Tar http://pear.php.net/get/XML_Parser http://pear.php.net/get/Console_Getopt 
    pear install db
    pear install Auth_SASL Date File
    pear install HTTP_Request
    pear install Log MDB2 MDB2_Driver_mysql
    pear install Mail Mail_Mime Net_SMTP Net_Sieve
    
    It should result in (bold entries came in automatically):
     
  7. itjumper

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    why would files be missing if the HD was cloned ?? Shouldn't it be exactly the same as the original?
     
  8. apmuthu

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    I too was baffled at seeing some files missing. It is possibly because I overwrote the following files:
    Code:
    /etc/fstab 
    /etc/mtab 
    /etc/ssh/* 
    from a fresh install on the target machine into the cloned version on the target machine
    - OR -
    possibly I ran a
    Code:
    yum update
    on the cloned version on the target machine soon thereafter and had the php-pear on CentOS 5.4 uninstall the earlier version before installing a skeletal new version of itself.
     

Share This Page