Elastix/Asterisk with only one analog line?

Discussion in 'General' started by kkrodd, Jan 12, 2010.

1. kkrodd

Hello and Happy New Year to all!

Sorry if what I'm asking is too stupid or basic as I'm a total noob when it's about telephony (analog or digital), although I can pretty much hold my own in regards to Linux.

My questions arised because I need to have a PBX/answering machinde/call redirector, etc but only with one analog line, and I need to know if I can do this with Elastix/Asterisk or if I need somthing else --and if that's so, then please suggest where to begin.

More specific questions to begin are:

1- Can I use only an analog modem to implement it instead of the complex hardware always listed as required? (I'm thinking in buying a USB Modem so I can use it as such in any virtual machine like virtualbox or vmware).

2- I need Elastix to accept a set of rules defined by myself, when it reads the caller ID (analog line) and according to the number (for example if it's from a cell, or a local, or regional) redirect to a different set of pre-recorded messages (answering machine) or in case of really important predefined numbers, redirect to the actual phone connected to the output port of the modem, so I can answer the phone?

3- Maybe (depending again of the source call) record the voice of the caller in a file (lossy format as MP3 or OGG) an write me an email with the file appended. Is this doable in this scenario?

In other words does Elastix and/or Asterisk and all its functions work with only an analog (preferably external USB) modem?

If this is possibe but with a limited set of modems, please suggest actual makers/models and any details about it you are aware of.

If not is this possible with another solution similar to Elastix?

Thanks for any suggestions!

KkrodD!!!

2. david

I'am no expert, but I would get either a pci card or SPA3102 to control the line