Elastix 1.5 would support 64 bits

Joined
May 14, 2007
Messages
1,454
Points
0
Dear Community,

We are glad to announce that the next version of Elastix would have support for 64 bits. This means it would have a better hardware support for most of 64 bit servers and it would support more than 4GB of ram out of the box.

Next Wednesday 18 of February we would be lunching our first preview for testing and feedback

Best Regards,

Rafael
 
Joined
Aug 8, 2008
Messages
293
Points
0
Great news I guess. Not trying to be negative just trying to learn. Out of curiosity other than more memory and maybe some hardware will 64bit be a big improvement? What will it improve? Elastix is not using much resources now on an amd x2 with 2gis of ram. Are asterisk or freepbx 64bit or just the underlying os?

Thanks,
Don
 
Joined
May 14, 2007
Messages
1,454
Points
0
Actually we would release two iso, the 64 bits and the 32 bits. There is time to time for big implelentation in witch you may need more than 4 gb of ram.

Regards,

Rafael
 
Joined
Aug 8, 2008
Messages
293
Points
0
Thanks for the info. I will probably switch to the 64 bit since I have 64 bit system. Will there be an easy way to do this once it is final? Or will it be try to move config over by hand.

Thanks for a great product,
Don
 
Joined
May 14, 2007
Messages
1,454
Points
0
I think you would have to move the config by hand. At least in first releases.

Regards,

Rafael
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2008
Messages
67
Points
0
The web interface (either Elastix or FreePBX) doesn't work in the 64bit version. Is there an update that would make it work?
 

Members online

No members online now.

Forum statistics

Threads
30,992
Messages
131,106
Members
17,716
Latest member
Orbit114
Top