Easily install Hamachi

Discussion in 'General' started by snowspeeder, Aug 13, 2008.

  1. snowspeeder

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is kinda cheating. But I found it to be very helpful and quick to install hamachi on elastix.

    First lets get into shell.

    mkdir /tmp/wget

    cd /tmp/wget

    "Were gonna steal some code from trixbox :p "
    wget http://yum.trixbox.org/centos/5/RPMS-2. ... 1.i386.rpm

    rpm -ivh hamachi-0.9.9.9.20-1.i386.rpm

    chmod 777 /usr/local/sbin/setup-hamachi

    setup-hamachi

    Now follow the prompts. B)



    If this tutorial helped you please pass on some good karma!
     
  2. Marko

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I read Hamachi is used to establish safe network environment. (for windows)
    How exactly is Hamachi used in this case?

    Thanks!
     
  3. snowspeeder

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Safely connect a roaming user "example: laptop with softphone" to the PBX for encrypted calls.

    Or, connect 2 or more elastix systems to the same hamachi vpn, create trunks between them and have a secure point to point connection without the need of opening ports on your firewall ;)
     
  4. mesbah

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    thank you it works.
     
  5. torontob

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    0
    what should be answers to the following:

    Network to join:
    Network password:
    Machine Nickname:

    Also, I am trying to setup Hamachi GUI client for Windows and I seem to have problem filling out all the fields. Anyone can guide me to a good tutorial?

    Thanks
     
  6. raj

    raj

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello snowspeeder,

    Thank you it works initially but there is a problem after restarting the elastix machine, it says have you run start hamachi? then if running hamachi start it doesnt run and gives error can you please help me urgently to fix this issue may be i need to add it as start up service? if so please let me know how to do it as everytime i restart Elastix i have to reinstall to make it work.
     
  7. smitch

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    snowspeeder, when restarting your system, hamachi does not automatically restart with it. at a command prompt type tuncfg & hit enter. next type, hamachi start & hit enter. just to make sure hamachi is running at this point, type hamachi & hit enter. it should show you something like this below where XXX is your defined nickname if applicable.

    Hamachi, a zero-config virtual private networking utility, ver 0.9.9.9-20

    version : hamachi-lnx-0.9.9.9-20
    pid : 2783
    status : logged in
    nickname : XXX

    And lastly, issuing the hamachi -c command will list all available options that you can use. Hope that helps you.
     
  8. huotg01

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0

Share This Page