domain set up for my elastix

Discussion in 'General' started by nasser, Oct 8, 2008.

  1. nasser

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi there,
    I have successfully set up elastix in a dedicated server and has been running for over a month now smoothly.

    Now I want to use a domain name or sub-domain instead of ip to access my elastix using browser.

    Would you please advise the best way to do this with out affecting the smooth working of my exisitng config.

    regards
     
  2. rafael

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,454
    Likes Received:
    1
    I think you would not have problems at all. I access my Elastix using private ip from the LAN and domain name from the wan.

    Saludos,

    Rafael
     
  3. nasser

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Rafael,
    Would you please advise on how to config the dns with out the simple control panel installed on my server. I access the server using SSH only.
     
  4. jsfix

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    your elastix server is behind a router or something

    please tell me about your hardware configurations

    and network for help you better.
     
  5. nasser

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you for your help.
    It is a dedicated server hosted in a hosting provider with a static ip assigned to it. And my domain name will be with Godaddy.com and after setting up the dns server on this server, I want to point the domain to the ip for elastix.
     
  6. rafael

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,454
    Likes Received:
    1
    If you can not access Elastix throw http or https and via ssh you should edit this file:

    /etc/resolv.conf

    And add the following lines:

    nameserver xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
    nameserver xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx

    Where xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx is the ip of a dns server.

    Now if you just want to access this server to get services such as SIP, then you do not need to setup dns on the server. Use goddaddy interface so that an specif domainname point your server. For my understanding that is all you need to do.

    If you need to configure a dns server on Elastix, then you should install bind and google to learn how to configure it.

    Saludos,

    Rafael
     
  7. jsfix

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    you need to open and point the port 443-80 to your server ip and acces at this way

    https://yougodaddydomain.com

    secure http so https

    its all you need read it on elastix without tears
    for how to install webmin it can be helpful for some other things.
     

Share This Page