Digium G729 codec problems

Joined
Nov 7, 2007
Messages
10
Points
0
Hi,

I have purchased a number of g729 codec licenses from Digium and have followed the instructions to install. I have added allow=g729 to sip.conf and forced an extension to use only g729. When a call is made, it rings and then when it is answered it fails.

IN the CLI when I 'core show translation' I see a table with all of the relevant figures next to g729 and for show g729 I get '0/0 encoders/decoders of 5 licensed channels are currently in use'

In the asterisk log file, the error listed is 'chan_sip.c: No compatible codecs, not accepting this offer!'

Has anyone else experienced this error/problem and is there a solution?

Thanks, Gary
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2007
Messages
276
Points
0
I realize that you said you followed the instructions but have you verified that the codec is in the modules directory? You have to copy it there from the /root /codec_<version> directory to /usr/lib/asterisk/modules
.

Also check the ownership & rights of the files. I think the owner needs to be asterisk.

C
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2007
Messages
10
Points
0
Hi Cowboy,

I have verified that the codec is in the /usr/lib/asterisk/modules directory and I changed the file ownership to asterisk instead of root and the calls are still failing.

Gary
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2007
Messages
597
Points
16
Here is something you might like to check as Digium compiled G729 different in asterisk 1.4

Something has changed as it now requires

codec_g729-ast14-icc-glibc-pentium­ ­ 4.so

instead of

codec_g729-ast14-gcc-glibc-pentium­ ­ 4.so

Above is for P4 systems
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2007
Messages
10
Points
0
Hi Dave,

When I couldn't get the Digium one to work, I started looking for other options and I have tried both the gcc and icc versions of the free codec and the error is still the same. When using the free codec, do I need to change the owenership to asterisk or leave it as root?

Gary
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2007
Messages
597
Points
16
I believe it still needs to be owned from asterisk

I have the bandwidth spare so dont use g729 just ulaw and alaw
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
275
Points
0
This just might be a simple question but I did not see any referance to it.

Have you Loaded the codec thru the cli?

From root navigate to /usr/lib/asterisk/modules/

your codec should be in that directory, if it is not put it there.

At the root prompt type asterisk -r ( a new prompt will appear CLI)

At the CLI prompt type load name_of_codec.so

elastix*CLI> load name_of_codec.so

Then type exit at the CLI prompt.

Log into the elastix system.

Click on the Asterisk CLI button under the PBX tab.

In the field box enter core show codecs.

Press the execute button.

In the list look for the g729 codec. If you see it then you have successfully installed the codec.


Hope that helps.
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2007
Messages
100
Points
0
I use the Digium g729 codec, at root issue the following.

asterisk -rvvv

it should look like below

root@pbx:~ $ asterisk -rvvv

This will be your result or similar

Asterisk 1.4.15, Copyright (C) 1999 - 2007 Digium, Inc. and others.
Created by Mark Spencer <markster@digium.com>
Asterisk comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY; type 'core show warranty' for details.
This is free software, with components licensed under the GNU General Public
License version 2 and other licenses; you are welcome to redistribute it under
certain conditions. Type 'core show license' for details.
=========================================================================
== Parsing '/etc/asterisk/asterisk.conf': Found
Connected to Asterisk 1.4.15 currently running on pbx (pid = 2488)
Verbosity is at least 3
pbx*CLI>

Now issue the following command

show g729

it should look like below

pbx*CLI> show g729

you should get the following results

0/0 encoders/decoders of 6 licensed channels are currently in use

I have 6 licenses so these are my results, hope this is of help to you. If you are still finding it difficult post back and I will write a step by step document on how to install the g729 codec.

Cheers

EDIT: Or still better follow this document. http://ftp.digium.com/pub/telephony/codec_g729/README<br><br>Post edited by: Stilllearning, at: 2008/01/23 05:59
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
18
Points
0
I just started having the same issues with the g729 codec. I downloaded the newest v33 codecs for my pent4 machine, and did all i need to do to install it. I see my fives licenses go live in the asterisk log, and the core show translation gives me the times for the g729 as it should the cli for show g729 gives me five licenses in use(?-they are not in use no active channels).

I noticed that the new codecs are dated 30/1/08 where as the ones I used to use were dated sometime in November last year I believe...so i am thinking that the codecs are stuffed up somehow...

does anyone have the novem 07 codecs they could email to me?? if so, please send them to mhuff<@>pegasus<dot>yi<dot>org

Thanks heaps...
 
Joined
May 12, 2010
Messages
1,663
Points
0
I think this might solve your problems:
Code:
chmod +x /usr/lib/asterisk/modules/codec_g72*
service asterisk restart
Here is my full script to install g729 and g723:

Code:
wget http://asterisk.hosting.lv/bin/codec_g723-ast14-icc-glibc-pentium4.so
mv codec_g723-ast14-icc-glibc-pentium4.so /usr/lib/asterisk/modules
chmod +x /usr/lib/asterisk/modules/codec_g723-ast14-icc-glibc-pentium4.so
wget http://asterisk.hosting.lv/bin/codec_g729-ast14-icc-glibc-pentium4.so
mv codec_g729-ast14-icc-glibc-pentium4.so /usr/lib/asterisk/modules
chmod +x /usr/lib/asterisk/modules/codec_g729-ast14-icc-glibc-pentium4.so
asterisk -rx "module load codec_g729-ast14-icc-glibc-pentium4.so"
asterisk -rx "module load codec_g723-ast14-icc-glibc-pentium4.so"
service asterisk restart
asterisk -rx "core show codecs"
<br><br>Post edited by: ramoncio, at: 2008/02/13 17:05
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2007
Messages
276
Points
0
The rights might be an issue but also check to see what you have activated on the phone side. In your extensions definition there is also an allow & deny option, make sure that you are allowing g729 to the extension and make sure the phone is configured for g729.

C
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
18
Points
0
All the codecs are in place, the phones are configured correctly (have not changed at all it the last 3 years), router has not changed in the last three years for ports forwarded, etc, etc, etc.

the only thing that has changed is i (and now wish the he double l that i didn't) download the newest v33 g729 codecs from Digium. they have had to stuff these things up somehow, because, again, with theones I had downloaded back in november worked with no issue....now with these ones from the jan08 folder on Digiums site, i continually get "chan_sip.c: No compatible codecs, not accepting this offer!" when a call comes in.

Just so everyone can see - here is the "show g729" cli output

"0/0 encoders/decoders of 5 licensed channels are currently in use"

and i have tried the pentium. the i686, and the i586 versions of the g729....all do the same thing.

this is really ticking me off!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! but i know it is not Elastix's fault....it is digium's!!!!!
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2007
Messages
10
Points
0
A GLEaTS update:

Out of frustration, I ended up saving/backing up the digium codec and registration file and reinstalling Elastix. Once reinstalled and reconfigured, I first tested with the free codec and then copied the relevant Digium files back (ie after removing/moving the free codec) and everything just worked.

I am suspecting that the problem arose via the Digium registration process (but I am unwilling to try to confirm) which was not required on the reinstall as all I needed to do was to copy the files.
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2007
Messages
276
Points
0
Glad that you resolved this, but by chance did you open a ticket with Digium? If there is an issue (hidden or otherwise) it would be great if they were aware of it and hopefully correct it.
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2007
Messages
10
Points
0
I did request support from Digium, unfortunately it took over a week for Digium to respond. By the time that they responded I had already reinstalled...
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest posts

Forum statistics

Threads
30,987
Messages
131,100
Members
17,716
Latest member
Orbit114
Top