Different ring/frequency for incoming calls

harryhirsch

Joined
Apr 10, 2009
Messages
24
Likes
0
Points
0
#1
Hi,

If there is an incoming external call, all my phones in the queues are ringing with same ring-sound/frequency.
When there is an internal call (phone-2-phone) normally its the same ring-sound/frequency as for external calls.

Its there a way to setup 2 different ring-sound/frequency,
one for external calls and the second for internal calls ?


Thats the case a old PBX systems and customers like it.


Imagine, there is somebody working in a large stock and he has not the possibility to look every time on his phone.
So he can "hear" by the different ring-sound/frequency, if it is an external or internal call.


Is there a way to setup like this ?


Bye and thanks for your help in advance
 

danardf

Joined
Dec 3, 2007
Messages
8,069
Likes
10
Points
88
#2
Hi..

You can use Alert Info into eahc incoming route.
ALERT_INFO can be used for distinctive ring with SIP devices.:
I don't know exactly what will you put.
For me, I did use : Bellcore-dr1 But maybe it's for only my phones 7960 Cisco.
 

harryhirsch

Joined
Apr 10, 2009
Messages
24
Likes
0
Points
0
#3
Hi,

Thanks for your really quick reply !!!

It works at your installation as I described ?

Is it possible to send me a screenshot of your "Incoming Route" ?
I have no idea what should I add here and how does it interact with the phones.

Maybe a screenshot of one of your phones will be helpful, too.


I want to use it with Linksys/Cisco SPA962 phones.


Thanks
 

danardf

Joined
Dec 3, 2007
Messages
8,069
Likes
10
Points
88
#4


In this incoming route,(DID), I did put an alert info.
 

harryhirsch

Joined
Apr 10, 2009
Messages
24
Likes
0
Points
0
#5
Hi danardf,


It works - not as I expected, but better than nothing.

In the Linksys phones it does work like you showed, because it can not recognize this "Bellcore..." value.

In the "Phone" tab of the SPA942, there are 10 default ring tones which can be called with ALERT_INFO in Elastix, i.e. with an "Inbound Route".

So I tried in my Inbound Route with "Alert_Info:" "n=Office;w=4;c=1" which has the corresponding value in the "Phone" tab for the default "Ring Tone 10".

In this case the phones rings with "Ring Tone 10: n=Office;w=4;c=1" if there is an incoming external call and "Ring Tone 1: n=Classic-2;w=3;c=1" for all other calls.

This is the "half way".
But as the default ring tones of the phones are not quit nice, I would like to call with ALERT_INFO one of the 2 custom ring tones which I have uploaded to the phones.

I posted the request to the cisco community, too.
https://www.myciscocommunity.com/thread/8825
Maybe they have an answer for my request and will help many Linksys phone users ;-)

You brought me to the right direction - now its to Linksys/CISCO.



Thank you very much !
 

danardf

Joined
Dec 3, 2007
Messages
8,069
Likes
10
Points
88
#6
Ok... I'm happy for you, and it's very useful for the community and me in same time. ;)

Regards
 

Mathiau

Joined
Jul 16, 2009
Messages
227
Likes
0
Points
0
#7
good info, for one office they would like a different ring based on what incoming number is used, but they use the same trunk.
 

Patrick_elx

Joined
Dec 14, 2008
Messages
1,120
Likes
0
Points
0
#8
you can differentiate the incoming number too, even on the same trunk.

Look in your sip debug where the incoming number is presented, and create a context to extract it and send it to another inbound route.

That's what I'm doing with one of my provider who is providing me with two DIDs, one being only an alias. I'm also sometimes forwarding my cellphone to this number when I'm abroad.

I can differentiate what number the correspondent dialed to reach me even if they are all using the same sip trunk.
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest posts

Forum statistics

Threads
30,902
Messages
130,887
Members
17,565
Latest member
omarmenichetti
Top