cpu problem with elastix 2

landfiets

Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
20
Likes
0
Points
0
#1
Hi

I installed elastix 2 on my VPS and got this behaviour.
The CPU goed to 100% once and a while which he never did before with Elastix 1.6


[Sep 9 00:12:47] NOTICE[3161] chan_iax2.c: Restricting registration for peer '1109' to 60 seconds (requested 300)
[Sep 9 00:13:42] NOTICE[3153] chan_iax2.c: Restricting registration for peer '1109' to 60 seconds (requested 300)
[Sep 9 00:14:31] VERBOSE[21434] manager.c: == Manager 'admin' logged on from 127.0.0.1
[Sep 9 00:14:31] VERBOSE[21434] manager.c: == Manager 'admin' logged off from 127.0.0.1
[Sep 9 00:14:31] VERBOSE[21436] manager.c: == Manager 'admin' logged on from 127.0.0.1
[Sep 9 00:14:33] VERBOSE[21436] manager.c: == Manager 'admin' logged off from 127.0.0.1
[Sep 9 00:14:33] VERBOSE[21445] manager.c: == Manager 'admin' logged on from 127.0.0.1
[Sep 9 00:14:33] VERBOSE[21445] manager.c: == Manager 'admin' logged off from 127.0.0.1
[Sep 9 00:14:37] NOTICE[3160] chan_iax2.c: Restricting registration for peer '1109' to 60 seconds (requested 300)
[Sep 9 00:14:38] VERBOSE[21447] manager.c: == Manager 'admin' logged on from 127.0.0.1
[Sep 9 00:14:39] VERBOSE[21447] manager.c: == Manager 'admin' logged off from 127.0.0.1
[Sep 9 00:14:45] VERBOSE[21449] manager.c: == Manager 'admin' logged on from 127.0.0.1
[Sep 9 00:14:45] VERBOSE[21449] manager.c: == Manager 'admin' logged off from 127.0.0.1
[Sep 9 00:14:47] VERBOSE[21451] manager.c: == Manager 'admin' logged on from 127.0.0.1
[Sep 9 00:14:47] VERBOSE[21451] manager.c: == Manager 'admin' logged off from 127.0.0.1
[Sep 9 00:15:01] VERBOSE[2988] asterisk.c: -- Remote UNIX connection
[Sep 9 00:15:01] VERBOSE[21459] asterisk.c: -- Remote UNIX connection disconnected
[Sep 9 00:15:36] NOTICE[3164] chan_iax2.c: Restricting registration for peer '1109' to 60 seconds (requested 300)
[Sep 9 00:16:32] NOTICE[3155] chan_iax2.c: Restricting registration for peer '1109' to 60 seconds (requested 300)
[Sep 9 00:17:29] NOTICE[3162] chan_iax2.c: Restricting registration for peer '1109' to 60 seconds (requested 300)
[Sep 9 00:18:25] NOTICE[3161] chan_iax2.c: Restricting registration for peer '1109' to 60 seconds (requested 300)
[Sep 9 00:19:21] NOTICE[3153] chan_iax2.c: Restricting registration for peer '1109' to 60 seconds (requested 300)
[Sep 9 00:20:02] VERBOSE[2988] asterisk.c: -- Remote UNIX connection
[Sep 9 00:20:02] VERBOSE[21496] asterisk.c: -- Remote UNIX connection disconnected
[Sep 9 00:20:17] NOTICE[3160] chan_iax2.c: Restricting registration for peer '1109' to 60 seconds (requested 300)
[Sep 9 00:21:13] NOTICE[3154] chan_iax2.c: Restricting registration for peer '1109' to 60 seconds (requested 300)
[Sep 9 00:22:08] NOTICE[3164] chan_iax2.c: Restricting registration for peer '1109' to 60 seconds (requested 300)
[Sep 9 00:23:04] NOTICE[3163] chan_iax2.c: Restricting registration for peer '1109' to 60 seconds (requested 300)
[Sep 9 00:23:59] NOTICE[3152] chan_iax2.c: Restricting registration for peer '1109' to 60 seconds (requested 300)
[Sep 9 00:24:54] NOTICE[3159] chan_iax2.c: Restricting registration for peer '1109' to 60 seconds (requested 300)
[Sep 9 00:25:01] VERBOSE[2988] asterisk.c: -- Remote UNIX connection
[Sep 9 00:25:01] VERBOSE[21532] asterisk.c: -- Remote UNIX connection disconnected
[Sep 9 00:25:51] NOTICE[3155] chan_iax2.c: Restricting registration for peer '1109' to 60 seconds (requested 300)
[Sep 9 00:26:46] NOTICE[3161] chan_iax2.c: Restricting registration for peer '1109' to 60 seconds (requested 300)
[Sep 9 00:27:18] VERBOSE[21562] manager.c: == Manager 'admin' logged on from 127.0.0.1
[Sep 9 00:27:18] VERBOSE[21562] manager.c: == Manager 'admin' logged off from 127.0.0.1
[Sep 9 00:27:20] VERBOSE[21564] manager.c: == Manager 'admin' logged on from 127.0.0.1

Anyone?
 

dicko

Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
4,099
Likes
0
Points
0
#2
If 1109 is an iax modem

edit iaxmodem-cfg.ttyIAX1 for example to

refresh 60

the rest looks normal, you might get a better idea of what is chewing-up the CPU with

man top

and then

top

for a longer term diagnostic I suggest

yum install -y sysstat

and after a while


sar -A

dicko
 

Lee Sharp

Joined
Sep 28, 2010
Messages
332
Likes
0
Points
0
#3
I just started doing some troubleshooting, and look what I find...

[Jan 31 17:48:26] NOTICE[3104] chan_iax2.c: Restricting registration for peer '3987' to 60 seconds (requested 300)
[Jan 31 17:48:26] NOTICE[3109] chan_iax2.c: Restricting registration for peer '3988' to 60 seconds (requested 300)
[Jan 31 17:48:26] NOTICE[3107] chan_iax2.c: Restricting registration for peer '3989' to 60 seconds (requested 300)

But I do not have a iaxmodem-cfg.... so where is this mystery file?
 

dicko

Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
4,099
Likes
0
Points
0
#4
Iaxmodems are defined in /etc/iaxmodem/

as previously suggested, change the refresh to 60 in each one
 

franklin

Joined
Oct 22, 2010
Messages
254
Likes
0
Points
0
#5
Hi dicko,

My faxes are coming through on a 1.6 box sporadically.

I changed my refresh as you suggest:
device /dev/ttyIAX1
owner uucp:uucp
mode 660
port 40000
refresh 60
server 127.0.0.1
peername 3001
secret xxxx
cidname xxx
cidnumber xxxxxxxxxx
codec slinear

Still getting chan_iax2.c: Restricting registration for peer '3001' to 60 seconds (requested 300)

I'm wondering if it is my VSP causing the trouble. I have a full tail log I can post, but will hold off.

Have you had good success using incoming fax over SIP? Thanks.
 

fmvillares

Joined
Sep 8, 2007
Messages
1,785
Likes
0
Points
0
#6
Re: Re:cpu problem with elastix 2

nope its your freepbx 2.7 or 2.8 general setting that is set to a different amount of seconds
 

franklin

Joined
Oct 22, 2010
Messages
254
Likes
0
Points
0
#7
where can I set that?
 

dicko

Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
4,099
Likes
0
Points
0
#8
Did you restart iaxmodem and asterisk? But really those log entries are just noise and won't affect the functionality.

Possibly a VSP issue, faxes are unforgiving, but using good providers/network I get better than 99% on faxes in/out through iaxmodems (about the same as using analog)

the fax logs are in /var/spool/hylafax/log

the asterisk logs won't be very helpful usually
 

franklin

Joined
Oct 22, 2010
Messages
254
Likes
0
Points
0
#9
Thanks a heap. That was helpful. I compared logs from a 2.0 box that was sending text faxes and receiving 99-100% to a 1.6 box that was receiving only 50%. I then looked at my DIDs. The DID to the 1.6 box was not listed T.38 with my VSP, and the 2.0 box DID was. Moved the T.38 DID to the 1.6 box and things are fine.

The only problem I have with outbound faxes out of the 2.0 box is with attachments. It sends out faxes fine if you use the Text to Fax box. My VSP tells me I have to send from a separate IP for them to successfully take attachments and pass through. I've been investigating an SBC. It seems that there would have to be some sort of decision maker at the firewall that says if I get this kind of transmission I send it out on this public IP. Thoughts? Thanks.
 

fmvillares

Joined
Sep 8, 2007
Messages
1,785
Likes
0
Points
0
#10
Re: Re:cpu problem with elastix 2

pdf sending using web page of elastix in pdf or tiff is not working with most of the files you drop in there...maybe due to ghostscript or some older files to convert formats
 

franklin

Joined
Oct 22, 2010
Messages
254
Likes
0
Points
0
#11
Re: Re:cpu problem with elastix 2

Ah ha. Yes, tried to send even a .txt and the fax did not appear in /hylafax/log.

Any plan on the part of the good folks at PS to fix it?

Thanks.
 

dicko

Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
4,099
Likes
0
Points
0
#12
Re: Re:cpu problem with elastix 2

I think you will find AvantFax muuch more functional than the embedded one. but yes you should update ghostscript also
 

franklin

Joined
Oct 22, 2010
Messages
254
Likes
0
Points
0
#13
Would love to put this on a box. I found the instructions below in a thread. But they install the 3.1.4-5 beta. I see Avant is on 3.3.3. May need a little help. I have downloaded 3.3.3 onto my PC. Do you think we could start a thread for all to see with instrucitons on how to properly install it?

I will post a new thread under Help. Avantfax 3.3.3 install. Thanks, dicko. How the heck does someone send you a blueberry muffin or something? virtual kharma goes only so far.

"Finally, after all the great job done by ramocio and the community we have an rpm of avantfax. At the moment we have a beta package for testing purpose only. Feed back needed to fix possible bugs.

Installation instructions
Add the Elastix-Extras RPM Repository for CentOS:
-Go to the admin web interfase
- go to updates
- add extra repositories
Install avant fax
- ssh to the server
- run: yum install elastix-avantfax
Login again to the web interface (you may need to restart the session)
- Go to the extra section and you would see avantfax tab"
 

fmvillares

Joined
Sep 8, 2007
Messages
1,785
Likes
0
Points
0
#14
Re: Re:cpu problem with elastix 2

elastix avantfax is not maintained since ages ago ....it was ramoncios job but with so little support from palosanto simply went to oblivion as ramon gets tired of working for nothing...follow dicks advice and install a-fax script from colsolgrp projects
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest posts

Forum statistics

Threads
30,902
Messages
130,886
Members
17,563
Latest member
dineshr
Top