Connect old Panasonic PBX to Elastix

Discussion in 'General' started by peterz, Feb 1, 2010.

  1. peterz

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    We have 2 offices which are not in the same location.

    Office 1 is running pure IP telephony - asterisk + SPA 94x
    Office 2 is OLD Panasonic PBX with no for IP upgrade.

    Both office are in VPN.

    What is cheapest option to interconnect the extensions in the two offices ?

    One idea is:

    extension A(SPA 94x) <--> Elastix <---- VPN ---> [Elastix with 1 fxo + 1 fxs card] <---> Panasonic.

    Howevver I wonder if it is possible to replace [Elastix with 1 fxo + 1 fxs card] with something cheaper like SPA3102 ?

    All I need is extensions one extension in office to dial ALL extensions in office 2 and ALL extensions in office 2 to be able to dial one single extension in Office 1 ?

    Thanks,

    Peter
     
  2. Baez

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    If you got enough available extensions in Panasonic, you can use a gateway like Grandstream GXW4104 or GXW4108 and you will have 4 or 8 extensions for to talk to and from Panasonic to Elastix.
    If you do it with SPA3102 you will only have 1 call at a time with Panasonic.

    Hope this help.
     
  3. peterz

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I need all extensions from panasonic to be able to dial. 1 call at a time is fine.

    For SPA3102 I am not sure if I will be able to access ALL extensions behind the panasonic from 1 single asterisk extensions...
     
  4. peterz

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Client1
    Client2
    Client3 <----> Panasonic ---> <device> <--> Asterisk <---- > extension 1
    .......
    CLientN

    Basically this is what I need, not sure what is best for <device>
     
  5. gmkfree

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have this kind of setup in our office


    due to massive expansion and im sick of laying all the cables for telephone.. i deploy two system




    extensions--PANASONIC-----pap2------ASTERISK--extensions


    panasonic to asterisk calling

    an extension on panasonic pickup the phone and dial a number to pick up a line that is PAP2 to CO POrts of PANASONIC

    in the pap2 i input two SIP accounts that connect to my ASTERISK,,

    so the extension from panasonic via PAp2 can call all the extensions on ASTERISK


    asterisk to panasonic

    i open the softphone or use the IPPHONe...

    dial the extension number which i input in PAP2

    the pap2 rang.. go straight to PANASONIC CO ports

    panasonic IVR rang.. ask me to input the extension number, then i dial the extension number. kaboom.. im talking to a conventional phone user


    if you dont have ivr at PANaSONIC then it will be ring ast the operator.. no choice but to tell miss operator please transfer my call to someone.. blah blah blah


    sorry for bad english... if you dont understand my post.. call me:) hahah
     
  6. peterz

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just to know everyone: most likley we will go with second Asterisk box in front of Panasonic
     

Share This Page