confused with fxo/fxs :-(

Discussion in 'General' started by byaru1, Jul 1, 2009.

  1. byaru1

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Folk,

    Someone please explain to me - We have an existing (pots) PBX, which I am interfacing with asterik (elastix) using a digium TDM400P with 2fxs/2fxo configuration. We want the users in the IP cloud to reach the other PBX and vice-varsa using this single extension from the pots pbx.

    Should I plug the telephone cable of this extension into an fxs or fxo port? Because, logically, I treat it as an "incoming telephone line" to the asterisk?

    How about a direct analog line from an ADSL splitter? Do I also hook such a cable into the fxo or fxs port? Because ordinarily, this cable would hook into a telephone headset, so can I hook it into fxs? I'm certainly confused..
     
  2. DaveD

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    0
    You would need to plug into FXO
    FXS is for adding analog handsets as extensions
     
  3. byaru1

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, this is what I suspected, but currently, the phone line (from the ADSL splitter) is in fact plugged into fxs port (no 4) and the asterisk can receive calls from this (on DAHDI 4/1) and redirect them to an IP phone. So, I am really confused why this is so? Here is my dahdi-channels.conf,

    ; Autogenerated by /usr/sbin/dahdi_genconf on Tue Jun 30 11:41:40 2009 -- do not hand edit
    ; Dahdi Channels Configurations (chan_dahdi.conf)
    ;
    ; This is not intended to be a complete chan_dahdi.conf. Rather, it is intended
    ; to be #include-d by /etc/chan_dahdi.conf that will include the global settings
    ;

    ; Span 1: WCTDM/4 "Wildcard TDM400P REV I Board 5" (MASTER)
    ;;; line="1 WCTDM/4/0 FXOKS"
    signalling=fxo_ks
    callerid="Channel 1" <4001>
    mailbox=4001
    group=5
    context=from-internal
    channel => 1
    callerid=
    mailbox=
    group=
    context=default

    ;;; line="2 WCTDM/4/1 FXOKS"
    signalling=fxo_ks
    callerid="Channel 2" <4002>
    mailbox=4002
    group=5
    context=from-internal
    channel => 2
    callerid=
    mailbox=
    group=
    context=default

    ;;; line="3 WCTDM/4/2 FXSKS"
    signalling=fxs_ks
    callerid=asreceived
    group=0
    context=from-pstn
    channel => 3
    callerid=
    group=
    context=default

    ;;; line="4 WCTDM/4/3 FXSKS"
    signalling=fxs_ks
    callerid=asreceived
    group=0
    context=from-pstn
    channel => 4
    callerid=
    group=
    context=default


    So, it appears to me that channel 4 is indeed fxs, but why is it that the system received and send a call through this channel? (DAHDI/4-1)? Does the nomenclature DAHDI/4-1 mean channel 4? What does the 1 mean?
     
  4. DaveD

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    0
    Channel 4 is FXO
    FXS channels will have from-internal
     
  5. byaru1

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ah yes, I see my confusion - thanks.

    My other problem is that when calling in from outside to any of the incoming lines, the system does not hang up when the call is terminated. I have to manually hang up the calls in the flash panel.

    This is not the case with outgoing calls though.

    What can I do to rectify this?

    thanks
    eb
     
  6. DaveD

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    0
    /etc/asterisk/chan_dahdi.conf
    uncomment lines
    ;Uncomment these lines if you have problems with the disconection of your analog lines
    busydetect=yes
    busycount=3
     
  7. byaru1

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, I do much appreciate your assistance to a poor newbie !

    Now, seems I'm getting there, but a few nuances still exist.

    I'm setting up DISA, and our old PBX is a nortel with all nortel phones hooked into it. The problem is that when I make a call from any of the phones on the nortel PBX to DISA on my asterisk PBX, I get a dial tone from asterisk, but the asterisk does not seem to receive any tones when numbers are dialled from the phones. (Are these the DTMF tones/commands?) SO in short, the nortel system does not seem to pass DTMF tones to asterisk.

    Is this someone else has experienced? How can I resolve this one?
     
  8. byaru1

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    What do the above directives actually mean? Because sometimes, I'm still experiencing the issue of calls not hanging up even after uncomenting the lines above.

    rgds
    eb
     

Share This Page