configure keyboard

danardf

Joined
Dec 3, 2007
Messages
8,069
Likes
10
Points
88
#1
hi.

When we install elastix. The install porcess don't configure the keyboard.

We must make a system-config-keyboard and setup fine this config beacause, the keyboard is always QWERT !
 

ramoncio

Joined
May 12, 2010
Messages
1,663
Likes
0
Points
0
#2
You don't need that.
try with the console command "setup"
 

danardf

Joined
Dec 3, 2007
Messages
8,069
Likes
10
Points
88
#3
Ok, but what's difference? :blink:
If i make setup, i must go to keyboard....
There's more menu.
the cmd system-config-keyboard is direct!

The problem is that during installation, the keyboard is not properly configured!
And i must make this command. :huh:
 

ramoncio

Joined
May 12, 2010
Messages
1,663
Likes
0
Points
0
#4
Sorry. I thought you meant you had to install system-config-keyboard, and it is already included too, I didn't notice.
Rafael has just told me that he has reported the bug.
This bug is there since Elastix 0.6, from what I know, Maybe it is there since its first release.
I also need to change my keyboard to Spanish :)
 

danardf

Joined
Dec 3, 2007
Messages
8,069
Likes
10
Points
88
#5
Ok :)

Thanks for this informations.
 

ramoncio

Joined
May 12, 2010
Messages
1,663
Likes
0
Points
0
#6
I have just discovered a great thing!!
If you open the iso file with an iso-manager program you can edit the file ks.cfg in the root of the iso and change the system language and keyboard by default!!! At least it works for spanish. It even selects by default Spain/Madrid timezone!!!
So now all my new Elastix installs will default to Spanish!!! :)

#System language
lang es_ES

#Language modules to install
langsupport es_ES
 

danardf

Joined
Dec 3, 2007
Messages
8,069
Likes
10
Points
88
#7
In Spanish language?

hmmmm ... I not understand because, (only for exemple :p ) from Trixbox installation, I can put the language, the keyboard, and the time zone.

Why from Elastix installation there aren't the keyboard setup?
Will be so easy, no? :huh:
 

danardf

Joined
Dec 3, 2007
Messages
8,069
Likes
10
Points
88
#8
Oups, ... and thanks for this information ;)
 

ramoncio

Joined
May 12, 2010
Messages
1,663
Likes
0
Points
0
#9
danardf, I suppose that if you use fr_FR instead of es_ES it will all be in french.
You just have to edit the ISO file, change en_US into ks.cfg to suit your language, save the modified iso, and then burn it to a CD. All your installations will default to your language.
 

danardf

Joined
Dec 3, 2007
Messages
8,069
Likes
10
Points
88
#10
Yes .... of course :laugh:
fortunately ;)

thanks ... I take this information
 

ramoncio

Joined
May 12, 2010
Messages
1,663
Likes
0
Points
0
#11
NOOOOOOOO
it just works for the installation process. After that it comes back to English again!!!! :(
 

danardf

Joined
Dec 3, 2007
Messages
8,069
Likes
10
Points
88
#12
Haa.... ok.
I thought that it was for the setup hardware (all the time).

Ok ....if it's only for installation process, the En or Fr language is not important for me, but the ES language yes. :blush:
Es uno problema para mi. ;)
 

ramoncio

Joined
May 12, 2010
Messages
1,663
Likes
0
Points
0
#13
It works for the locales, but not for the keyboard.

# system-config-keyboard es

solves it
 

ramoncio

Joined
May 12, 2010
Messages
1,663
Likes
0
Points
0
#14
It works!
You can also modify the default keyboard in the same ks.cfg file!
If you see, at the end of the file there is a #Post Install where you can add your custom commands

system-config-keyboard es #in my case

and then everything works, by default locales and keyboard are in Spanish.
 

ramoncio

Joined
May 12, 2010
Messages
1,663
Likes
0
Points
0
#15
mmmmmmmmmmm
this ks.cfg file is great!!
I can add all my post-install scripts there!!!!
This is really cool :)
 

danardf

Joined
Dec 3, 2007
Messages
8,069
Likes
10
Points
88
#16
Ok.. good.

I try this in a futur install. ;)

Thanks Ramoncio.
 

ramoncio

Joined
May 12, 2010
Messages
1,663
Likes
0
Points
0
#17
This is really COOL!
You can include scripts at the end of #Post Install in ks.cfg and all your modifications are included during installation. When you reboot, everything is already installed, and I've also added shortcuts to the Elastix's main menu. And everything in Spanish. But you can modify the script to suit your language.

You can get my modified ks.cfg here:

http://www.lolacolay.com/ramon/ks.cfg

Now it is time to improve my post-install boot scripts :)
 

ramoncio

Joined
May 12, 2010
Messages
1,663
Likes
0
Points
0
#18
It is even easier, in order to get the correct language selection at the installation process:

If you remove this lines from ks.cfg and ks.advanced.cfg in the iso, then the correct language is selected and not always english.

#System language
lang en_US

#Language modules to install
langsupport en_US
 

ElasMex

Joined
Oct 22, 2007
Messages
493
Likes
0
Points
16
#19
Hello ramoncio

Is there any way to install the image. "ISO" in Elastix in a USB stick?

Cheers and good ks.cfg file
 

ramoncio

Joined
May 12, 2010
Messages
1,663
Likes
0
Points
0
#20
Hello ElasMex.
You should have started a new thread with this. I think someone posted in the past about the same question.
I have never done it, but I'm sure it can be done. You will need to extract the iso to the flash disk and put a bootloader into it.
Search google for "linux usb boot", you should find out a way to do it.
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest posts

Forum statistics

Threads
30,902
Messages
130,886
Members
17,563
Latest member
dineshr
Top