Complete Beginner Help Please

charliefunkuk

Firstly you will have to excuse my ignorance with all things Linux, I know absolutely nothing. So..... I have just purchased a HP Proliant 360 Server from Ebay. It has an intel Xeon 2.8Ghz Processor, 2 GB Ram, 1 x 18GB 10k RPM SCSI drive, Dual NICs, CD Rom, 1u Rackmount.

The box came pre-installed with Elastix.

I managed to login to the box to a clean install of Elastix. It appears to be an older version that the current one. Can someone give me "idiot proof" step by step guide on how to upgrade to the very latest version.

I also bought on ebay today a Sangoma A200 3 port FXO/FXS card for this unit, and Im hoping this is what I need to connect my 2 BT telephone lines to the system??

When I say I am totally new to this, I mean I am REALLY new, and im learning by reading what I can and seemingly trial and error. I eventually plan to install the box into my business as the main telephone system and hopefully only have 1 BT line coming on for my broadband connection.

If I am barking up the wrong tree with any of this I would be very grateful for any help.

Many thanks

Neil

dicko

First off, Wecome:

Second go to the Downloads Tab at the top of this page and download "Elastix Without Tears" and the latest "Stable" iso image,

Start reading the E.W.T. document as you burn the iso , put it in the machine and hit the go button, answer all the questions and you are largely done (after you have finished E.W.T :) )

Each BT line you use will need an FXO interface module on the card. (Phones use FXS)

charliefunkuk

Hey many many thanks for your help! I will give that a try then. So I assume it will boot from the disc and install then itself?

So the card I have is FXO/FXS, I assume my BT line plugs into the FXO ports and when you say FXS is for the phones do you mean standard phones plug into this??

Neil

rollinsolo