Company Voicemail Box

Discussion in 'General' started by infoalan, May 17, 2010.

1. infoalan

Total Newbie to Elastix but loving it!

Dumb question: Want to have callers that call after business hours go to a general voicemail box. How do we set it up so that 2-3 different users/phones can (1) know there is a voice mail in that mailbox (not their mailbox but the shared firm mailbox) and (2) how do they check it?

Or is that the best way to do it?

We created an IVR with a "general voicemail" box but want to make sure a customer/client's message gets addressed first thing in the morning.

FYI... our phones (SPA941) have an excellent LED that VM is waiting BUT that is for the users OWN VM box not the general firm mailbox.

THANKS for any advice!

Alan

2. jgutierrez

And how are you planning to do it? Will it go directly into the voicemail, or it will go into an IVR, and then setup an option to go into voicemail?

How is supposed to work the time condition? Just sent it directly into the voicemail after hours, or send it into another IVR?

3. infoalan

Incoming calls go to a Ring Group. On no answer, it goes to an IVR that lets the caller choose a user or leave a message in the general mailbox.

No time conditions other that when no one is in the office, it will go to the general mailbox per above.

4. perezil

Re:Company Voicemail Box (General Mail Box)

Really, over a year and no one has come up with a solution? This is a pretty common scenario. Thus I am bumping it for the benefit of the whole.

Solution Required: General Mail Box

Reason for need:
    1. Caller does not know whom to leave a message to.
    2. IVR does not know who the call is for.
    3. Call Queue has to many users (overflow) or the time waiting in queue has expired.

In either of those cases, a General Delivery Mailbox is the best solution.

Requirements:
    1. The General Delivery Mailbox should be monitored by more than one person.