"Comedian Mail" msg. and VMail auth. not working

Discussion in 'General' started by sfeldberg, Jul 23, 2009.

1. sfeldberg

This is a strange one. Let me start by saying I am a newbie at working with Asterisk/Elastix/FreePBX on the admin side. I have inherited a functional system and there have been no changes made in the past few days that I am aware of.

I went to check my voicemail from my phone this AM and instead of hearing the "Password" greeting I hear "Comedian Mail" and my extension and password combo do not work. I go to my FreePBX VMail portal and try to log in using my extension and password and I get "Invalid username and password". I am thinking WTF did my system get hacked?!

I was able to get into the Elastix GUI and the FreePBX GUI using the expected passwords and all configurations seemed normal.

I decided that I would try to restore my system from the nightly FreePBX backup that ran last night. Here is where things get wacky:

When I do the restore and apply the configuration changes in FreePBX all of the *97 VMail and VMail portal logins are restored. However, there is an Outbound callerID string that we use to allow an external Asterisk system to send the calls out different trunks. The CallerID configuration shows up in the GUI but call traces show that the CallerID is not being appended and the calls are dropped. I have found that deleting and re-creating the CallerID configuration restores the functionality.

**BUT**

I have also found that if I make any other changes, in FreePBX or in Elastix GUI, and apply the configuration the *97 VMail goes back to "Comedian Mail" and the portal logins are broken again although those settings have not been touched.:blink:

I am at a loss here and would appreciate any help that this forum would provide.

Steve

2. Baez

Check the voicemail.conf file.
    Maybe is corrupted and you need to clean it.

3. sfeldberg