Clients allowed to send faxes???

Discussion in 'General' started by angelo, Jun 19, 2008.

  1. angelo

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    How can we allow a subnet?
    what about a host name?
    The interface only accept ONE ip at a time.

    How do you allow people to send faxes that are connected to a DHCP server if you cannot allow subnets.

    What about user/password autentications? why doesn't work.

    Thanks
    angelo
     
  2. rejil.rajan

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Angelo

    You can reserve the IP of that machine in DHCP server
     
  3. angelo

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    What I mean is DHCP from a Provider, like DSL or aDSL, where they change IP's every 12hs.
    This is what we need either a netmask or a hostname so we can link the machines with a DynDNS.

    But none of this option is available through the GUI, if you try anithing but an IP it gives you an error.
     
  4. elastix-tob

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    anything new on this issue? I do have the problem that it seems I can only allow single IP adresses to send faxes, like 192.168.1.2 192.168.1.3 and so on - but I would like to specifiy a range or something like that, e.g. 192.168.1.2-192.168.1.10 or 192.168.1.*
     
  5. andyshawn

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had the same issue and what i had to do was to install hamachi on the elastix server and also on the client machines. So instead of using ISP issued IP address, i used hamachi's IP address in the allowed "Fax Clients" list
     
  6. andyshawn

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    For my host on the internal LAN, i just added the individual IP addresses. It was pain full, but i will go ahead now and make the request to elastix and see if they will include it in future release.
     
  7. mstroven

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm still looking for some kind of resolution to this, such as the ability to enter an IP range, or a complete subnet... Any updates?
     
  8. Bob

    Bob

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,400
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have entered this in as a bug as of a few minutes ago.

    The issue is that Palosanto is using the standard IP validation library. Hylafax no longer permits IP ranges with an * on the end. However Hylafax will permit correct regex nomenclature which is

    192\.168\.0\.:::
    or
    192\.168\.0\.

    Now the Fax Clients GUI writes its entries to this file /var/spool/hylafax/etc/hosts.hfaxd

    So theoretically, you can add these directly to the hosts.hfaxd file. When you go back into the Fax Clients GUI, you will see the line added to the list. So it is only the GUI validation that refuses to allow it.

    All you can do is test....if not working look for hosts.hfaxd on Google to confirm the syntax.....

    Regards

    Bob
     
  9. Bob

    Bob

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,400
    Likes Received:
    1
    I should just add, if you manually change the hfaxd.conf file, you need to restart Hylafax, or better still go for restart of Elastix.

    Regards

    Bob
     
  10. mstroven

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Awesome! Thank you. I will give this a try right away.
     
  11. lairyaus

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried both of the formats suggested with no luck. :(
     
  12. alimehrizi

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Insert the following lines in the “/var/spool/hylafax/etc/hosts.hfaxd” file:
    @192.168.0.
    or for all networks:
    *\.*.*
    don't forget to restart hylafax servic.
     

Share This Page