Clients allowed to send faxes???

angelo

Joined
Jun 18, 2008
Messages
3
Likes
0
Points
0
#1
How can we allow a subnet?
what about a host name?
The interface only accept ONE ip at a time.

How do you allow people to send faxes that are connected to a DHCP server if you cannot allow subnets.

What about user/password autentications? why doesn't work.

Thanks
angelo
 

rejil.rajan

Joined
Apr 8, 2007
Messages
154
Likes
0
Points
0
#2
Hi Angelo

You can reserve the IP of that machine in DHCP server
 

angelo

Joined
Jun 18, 2008
Messages
3
Likes
0
Points
0
#3
What I mean is DHCP from a Provider, like DSL or aDSL, where they change IP's every 12hs.
This is what we need either a netmask or a hostname so we can link the machines with a DynDNS.

But none of this option is available through the GUI, if you try anithing but an IP it gives you an error.
 

elastix-tob

Joined
Aug 16, 2010
Messages
13
Likes
0
Points
0
#4
anything new on this issue? I do have the problem that it seems I can only allow single IP adresses to send faxes, like 192.168.1.2 192.168.1.3 and so on - but I would like to specifiy a range or something like that, e.g. 192.168.1.2-192.168.1.10 or 192.168.1.*
 

andyshawn

Joined
Apr 3, 2009
Messages
113
Likes
0
Points
0
#5
I had the same issue and what i had to do was to install hamachi on the elastix server and also on the client machines. So instead of using ISP issued IP address, i used hamachi's IP address in the allowed "Fax Clients" list
 

andyshawn

Joined
Apr 3, 2009
Messages
113
Likes
0
Points
0
#6
For my host on the internal LAN, i just added the individual IP addresses. It was pain full, but i will go ahead now and make the request to elastix and see if they will include it in future release.
 

mstroven

Joined
Oct 5, 2011
Messages
4
Likes
0
Points
0
#7
I'm still looking for some kind of resolution to this, such as the ability to enter an IP range, or a complete subnet... Any updates?
 

Bob

Joined
Nov 4, 2007
Messages
2,400
Likes
1
Points
36
#8
I have entered this in as a bug as of a few minutes ago.

The issue is that Palosanto is using the standard IP validation library. Hylafax no longer permits IP ranges with an * on the end. However Hylafax will permit correct regex nomenclature which is

192\.168\.0\.:::
or
192\.168\.0\.

Now the Fax Clients GUI writes its entries to this file /var/spool/hylafax/etc/hosts.hfaxd

So theoretically, you can add these directly to the hosts.hfaxd file. When you go back into the Fax Clients GUI, you will see the line added to the list. So it is only the GUI validation that refuses to allow it.

All you can do is test....if not working look for hosts.hfaxd on Google to confirm the syntax.....

Regards

Bob
 

Bob

Joined
Nov 4, 2007
Messages
2,400
Likes
1
Points
36
#9
I should just add, if you manually change the hfaxd.conf file, you need to restart Hylafax, or better still go for restart of Elastix.

Regards

Bob
 

mstroven

Joined
Oct 5, 2011
Messages
4
Likes
0
Points
0
#10
Awesome! Thank you. I will give this a try right away.
 

lairyaus

Joined
Aug 1, 2012
Messages
1
Likes
0
Points
0
#11
I tried both of the formats suggested with no luck. :(
 

alimehrizi

Joined
Apr 23, 2011
Messages
2
Likes
0
Points
0
#12
Insert the following lines in the “/var/spool/hylafax/etc/hosts.hfaxd” file:
@192.168.0.
or for all networks:
*\.*.*
don't forget to restart hylafax servic.
 

Members online

No members online now.

Forum statistics

Threads
30,952
Messages
130,980
Members
17,654
Latest member
janko67
Top