Cisco IP Phones opinion!!

fdiogo

Joined
Sep 7, 2008
Messages
52
Likes
0
Points
0
#1
Hello All!!!

I'm thinking in buying Cisco IP Phone 7906G and 7940G to work with Elastix!!!

1st question: they work??? :)

2nd question: is it dificult to configure???

3rd question: can i use all functions of the phone and Elastix

sorry for my english!!!! ;)

I would like to know how can i help translatiting to Portugues (European).

Thanks in advance!!

Diogo
 

telecomtechnician

Joined
Jan 8, 2008
Messages
422
Likes
0
Points
16
#2
Hi there

My personal opinion is DO NOT BUY CISCO

1) I bought one a year ago through ebay. Everything went fine but there is something I did not know, THE SIP FIRMWARE. This phone did not come with this firmware. And until today the phone works perfect !AS A PAPERWEIGHT!

2) There are a LOT of options there, from 30 $ to 600 $ or more.

3) The BT200 from grandstream is a perfect phone to start, the SPA942 from linksys, the IP501 from polycom and many, many others.

In case that you still want to go with CISCO, at least verify that it comes WITH THE SIP FIRMWARE.

Good Luck

David Medina
 

danardf

Joined
Dec 3, 2007
Messages
8,069
Likes
10
Points
88
#3
telecomtechnician said:
Hi there

My personal opinion is DO NOT BUY CISCO

David Medina
Why not!

telecomtechnician said:
1) I bought one a year ago through ebay. Everything went fine but there is something I did not know, THE SIP FIRMWARE. This phone did not come with this firmware. And until today the phone works perfect !AS A PAPERWEIGHT!

David Medina
For me, it's ok and work fine.

telecomtechnician wrote:

2) There are a LOT of options there, from 30 $ to 600 $ or more.
Yes.

telecomtechnician said:
3) The BT200 from grandstream is a perfect phone to start, the SPA942 from linksys, the IP501 from polycom and many, many others.
Linksys is, is... is.... Cisco!!

Waaaaaarfffff. :laugh:
It's funny.

Aastracom is very good ;)

telecomtechnician said:
In case that you still want to go with CISCO, at least verify that it comes WITH THE SIP FIRMWARE.

Good Luck

David Medina
There is a lots of firmware here: http://radiotwenterand.nl/~graver/cisco/SIP-7960/

Where is the problem?

Sometime, we must patch the firmware step by step, stage by stage, level by level:
P0S3-07-3-00 to P0S3-07-5-00... before update P0S3-08-02-00!!!

Cisco 7940/60 works great.

Cool David, Cool :)
If you want, give me your 7960 :woohoo:
 

telecomtechnician

Joined
Jan 8, 2008
Messages
422
Likes
0
Points
16
#4
Hi there, if you can find me the sip firmware for the cisco 7905 that I have, that would be great.
And maybe I could consider what I previously wrote and actually think about CISCO, mean while that brand is not for me.

P.D. If Linksys is owned by CISCO, that´s cool but at least there is no firmware problem with the SIPURA phones.

Waiting for any comments
David Medina
 

danardf

Joined
Dec 3, 2007
Messages
8,069
Likes
10
Points
88
#5
Hi there, if you can find me the sip firmware for the cisco 7905 that I have, that would be great.
Yes, maybe!
My Cisco's level for her web site, isn't good with my account.
Maybe i can find someone with the good account's level for downloading this file!
CP7905080001SIP060412A.ZIP
 

danardf

Joined
Dec 3, 2007
Messages
8,069
Likes
10
Points
88
#6
fdiogo said:
Hello All!!!

I'm thinking in buying Cisco IP Phone 7906G and 7940G to work with Elastix!!!

1st question: they work??? :)
Diogo
Yes, they can work!

2nd question: is it dificult to configure???
Diogo
Yes and no.
The problem is that they do have THE good Firmware SIP, and THE good phone! :blush:
After... no, it isn't dificult.

3rd question: can i use all functions of the phone and Elastix
Diogo
Yes, like other SIP phone.
 

fdiogo

Joined
Sep 7, 2008
Messages
52
Likes
0
Points
0
#7
in the site you gave me, they have SIP firmware for 7905

http://radiotwenterand.nl/~graver/cisco/7905/

a cant't find for Cisco 7906G/7912G and for 7940G.. :( can i update with 7905 and 7960????

thanks all for your opinion and your comments!!! :)

Diogo
 

danardf

Joined
Dec 3, 2007
Messages
8,069
Likes
10
Points
88
#8
You must be carefull.
There exist the SIP "Cisco" that isn't compatible with SIP V2 (i think like 7906 for exemple)!!!!!

To verify this information. :huh:

I think that you can't update this 7906. :unsure:
 

danardf

Joined
Dec 3, 2007
Messages
8,069
Likes
10
Points
88
#9

Members online

No members online now.

Latest posts

Forum statistics

Threads
30,902
Messages
130,886
Members
17,564
Latest member
Mai Tuyen
Top