Cisco IP Phones opinion!!

Discussion in 'General' started by fdiogo, Sep 29, 2008.

  1. fdiogo

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello All!!!

    I'm thinking in buying Cisco IP Phone 7906G and 7940G to work with Elastix!!!

    1st question: they work??? :)

    2nd question: is it dificult to configure???

    3rd question: can i use all functions of the phone and Elastix

    sorry for my english!!!! ;)

    I would like to know how can i help translatiting to Portugues (European).

    Thanks in advance!!

    Diogo
     
  2. telecomtechnician

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi there

    My personal opinion is DO NOT BUY CISCO

    1) I bought one a year ago through ebay. Everything went fine but there is something I did not know, THE SIP FIRMWARE. This phone did not come with this firmware. And until today the phone works perfect !AS A PAPERWEIGHT!

    2) There are a LOT of options there, from 30 $ to 600 $ or more.

    3) The BT200 from grandstream is a perfect phone to start, the SPA942 from linksys, the IP501 from polycom and many, many others.

    In case that you still want to go with CISCO, at least verify that it comes WITH THE SIP FIRMWARE.

    Good Luck

    David Medina
     
  3. danardf

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    8,069
    Likes Received:
    12
    Why not!

    For me, it's ok and work fine.

    telecomtechnician wrote:

    Yes.

    Linksys is, is... is.... Cisco!!

    Waaaaaarfffff. :laugh:
    It's funny.

    Aastracom is very good ;)

    There is a lots of firmware here: http://radiotwenterand.nl/~graver/cisco/SIP-7960/

    Where is the problem?

    Sometime, we must patch the firmware step by step, stage by stage, level by level:
    P0S3-07-3-00 to P0S3-07-5-00... before update P0S3-08-02-00!!!

    Cisco 7940/60 works great.

    Cool David, Cool :)
    If you want, give me your 7960 :woohoo:
     
  4. telecomtechnician

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi there, if you can find me the sip firmware for the cisco 7905 that I have, that would be great.
    And maybe I could consider what I previously wrote and actually think about CISCO, mean while that brand is not for me.

    P.D. If Linksys is owned by CISCO, that´s cool but at least there is no firmware problem with the SIPURA phones.

    Waiting for any comments
    David Medina
     
  5. danardf

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    8,069
    Likes Received:
    12
    Yes, maybe!
    My Cisco's level for her web site, isn't good with my account.
    Maybe i can find someone with the good account's level for downloading this file!
    CP7905080001SIP060412A.ZIP
     
  6. danardf

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    8,069
    Likes Received:
    12
    Yes, they can work!

    Yes and no.
    The problem is that they do have THE good Firmware SIP, and THE good phone! :blush:
    After... no, it isn't dificult.

    Yes, like other SIP phone.
     
  7. fdiogo

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    in the site you gave me, they have SIP firmware for 7905

    http://radiotwenterand.nl/~graver/cisco/7905/

    a cant't find for Cisco 7906G/7912G and for 7940G.. :( can i update with 7905 and 7960????

    thanks all for your opinion and your comments!!! :)

    Diogo
     
  8. danardf

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    8,069
    Likes Received:
    12
    You must be carefull.
    There exist the SIP "Cisco" that isn't compatible with SIP V2 (i think like 7906 for exemple)!!!!!

    To verify this information. :huh:

    I think that you can't update this 7906. :unsure:
     
  9. danardf

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    8,069
    Likes Received:
    12
    fdiogo find the firmware SIP for 7905 :p
    http://radiotwenterand.nl/~graver/cisco/7905/

    There is a nest of firmware 7905 :laugh:

    Thanks fdiogo ;)
     

Share This Page