CDR report dont show the extention number for outg

Discussion in 'General' started by unikbit, Oct 18, 2009.

  1. unikbit

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    I have installed 1.5.2 , is working good but in CDR report when an agent do a call dont'appear the number of extention.
    They use xlite.

    I have attached also a picture

    Thanks
     
  2. unikbit

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    the picture [​IMG]
     
  3. unikbit

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    nobody know?
    thanks
     
  4. unikbit

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    any idea?
     
  5. unikbit

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
  6. fraggle4

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Elastix uses the extension's Outbound CID as the identifier for the CDR and Billing Report.
    If you stick these in for each extension, you will start seeing them on your Outgoing calls. Since I use mainly zap technology, this isn't a problem for me, but for SIP calls there is a big catch...

    Whatever you put in the extension's Outbound CID will override the trunk CID. Some SIP providers require you send the correct trunk information, otherwise the outgoing call will be rejected.
    This is actually a longstanding freepbx issue.
    Now why elastix doesn't use the actual extension number, that's another question. It may be worth reporting this in the bug tracker.

    [​IMG]
     
  7. unikbit

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0

Share This Page