Cant make calls with Xlite in Elastix Call center

dobah

Joined
May 26, 2010
Messages
2
Likes
0
Points
0
#1
I am having problem with x-lite and elastix. WHen I log in to the call center console, x-lite registers that a call is on hold, and I therefore cant receive or make calls. I want to use the Elastix Call center module in conjuction with x-lite soft phone, and this problem hinders me. Help?
 

alwayson

Joined
Nov 16, 2009
Messages
48
Likes
0
Points
0
#2
Did you try other softphone? and/or last update all?. Best Regards
 

Ashley_Elastix

Joined
Feb 13, 2017
Messages
2
Likes
0
Points
1
#3
Hi Dobah,

Did you ever get a fix for this - I have exactly the same problem and unfortunately I cannot find any documentation on the Contact Center plug-in.

Thanks
 

nareach

Joined
Nov 4, 2015
Messages
151
Likes
4
Points
18

Ashley_Elastix

Joined
Feb 13, 2017
Messages
2
Likes
0
Points
1
#5
Hi nareach, I have downloaded MacroSip but this behaves in exactly the same manner as X-Lite - I log in with the Agent Console, the softphone rings, I answer the call and enter the password, the agent is then logged in but the initial call remains active meaning I can't make or receive calls. As soon as I hang up the call the agent logs out.

The lack of a manual is extremely frustrating.
 

nareach

Joined
Nov 4, 2015
Messages
151
Likes
4
Points
18
#6
I have used Macrosip once and it work perfect, make sure you have configured your agent correctly in call center module.
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest posts

Forum statistics

Threads
30,916
Messages
130,922
Members
17,598
Latest member
giornaso
Top