Can't find Zaptel device (WCTDM24xxp)

kman

Joined
Aug 4, 2008
Messages
26
Likes
0
Points
0
#1
G'day again folks,

I've just built a 1.3-2 system for a customer and the Digium card is no longer being detected. It worked for a day, then the next time I fired it up make a DHCP change I noticed none of the light were lit on the card. Sure enough, Zaptel failed to start, and /dev/zap is missing.

[root@elastix dev]# zaptel_hardware
pci:0000:02:00.0 wctdm24xxp- d161:8005 Wildcard TDM410P
[root@elastix dev]# cat /etc/udev/rules.d/50-udev.rules |grep zap
# Section for zaptel device
KERNEL=="zapctl", NAME="zap/ctl"
KERNEL=="zaptimer", NAME="zap/timer"
KERNEL=="zapchannel", NAME="zap/channel"
KERNEL=="zappseudo", NAME="zap/pseudo"
KERNEL=="zap[0-9]*", NAME="zap/%n"
[root@elastix dev]# ls /dev |grep zap
[root@elastix dev]#

Can anyone suggest a next step? I've already verified the card is fine in another system, and the PCI slot will except another NIC without any trouble. Any help is appreciated.

Dave.
 

kman

Joined
Aug 4, 2008
Messages
26
Likes
0
Points
0
#2
Problem solved. I still don't know what the cause was, but I've installed Zaptel 1.4.12.1 from sources and the card came up straight away. I image there was a bug introduced through an update at some point.

Thanks Folks.
 

Bob

Joined
Nov 4, 2007
Messages
2,400
Likes
1
Points
36
#3
Kman,

Your issue is confirmed. We just upgraded a system that was running Elastix 1.1 to 1.3-2.

It has been running for a couple of months with the TDM410P with no issues.

After the upgrade the card could not be detected on boot.
Performing a Modprobe wctdm24xxp would not recognise any valid card either.
It was recognised at the hardware level with lspci.

Everything I had in my arsenal was fired at it to get it sorted, but no good.

Finally I took the latest Zaptel sources 1.4.12.1 and compiled.
Immediately performed a modprobe wctdm24xxp and it recognised the card
Rebooted and asked Elastix to hardware detect the card. ok!!
Dialled in and out on PSTN lines. ok!!

As it was a live system, my ability to review totally what was happening or to just try recompiling the current Zaptel was not possible.

So the issue appears that the zaptel that is on the last YUM (post 1.3-2) update is possibly buggy. It may be just a config file that may have been bashed in the upgrade, but I don't think so.

Now, the only problem is the echo on the line, as the OSLEC is not in the zaptel from Asterisk. Might have to fudge it until an update to the Zaptel comes from the Elastix stable.

Rafael, could you keep an eye out for similar issues and if necessary to drive the next Zaptel version to be released....

Regards

Bob
 

rafael

Joined
May 14, 2007
Messages
1,454
Likes
1
Points
0
#4
Thank you bob and kman

The bug has been reported.

Saludos,

Rafael
 

Bob

Joined
Nov 4, 2007
Messages
2,400
Likes
1
Points
36
#5
Rafael,

Thanks.

We have just ordered a TDM410p for one of our test machines (currently has a TDM400 in it). So hopefully in the future testing we will spot this issue earlier...

Regards

Bob
 

kman

Joined
Aug 4, 2008
Messages
26
Likes
0
Points
0
#6

Members online

Latest posts

Forum statistics

Threads
30,902
Messages
130,887
Members
17,567
Latest member
achilont13
Top