Can someone share their Firewall script

Discussion in 'General' started by vaibhavs, Oct 12, 2009.

1. vaibhavs

Hi,

I have installed Elastix server (ISO install) with full yum update

I am no expert, but learning my way thru.

Can someone please share their firewall script ?
    It will help me get a head start and then I can modify rules (if needed) for my network.

My Elastix server is on a live IP with 5 extensions from our office (192.168.1.x) and 3 different trunks from different providers. SSh is on non-standard port and FTP port is closed. Postfix relay is blocked (standard install).

Thank you all in advance.

Best regards,
    Vai

2. Chilling_Silence

Firewalling is generally done at the router level, not on the box itself in my experience?

3. Eham

I suggest using IPTABLES. It allows you to stick a public IP directly on the box without needing something to NAT or Xlate for you.. ridding NAT traversal.

My approach is simple... allow traffic originated from the box to the WAN. Deny all inbound connections accept the ones I want. Throw this into a file and sh it, the IPTABLE rules should be saved and load upon reboot of the box:

Code:
    #!/bin/sh
    # chkconfig: 2345 99 99
    # description: IPTABLES FIREWALL STARTUP
    echo start by flushing the rules..................

/sbin/iptables -F INPUT
    /sbin/iptables -F OUTPUT
    /sbin/iptables -F FORWARD
    /sbin/iptables -F

echo allow packets coming from the machine..................

/sbin/iptables -A INPUT -i lo -j ACCEPT
    /sbin/iptables -A OUTPUT -o lo -j ACCEPT

echo allow established traffic
    /sbin/iptables -A INPUT -m state --state ESTABLISHED,RELATED -j ACCEPT
    /sbin/iptables -A OUTPUT -m state --state ESTABLISHED,RELATED -j ACCEPT

#################################
    ## What we allow

# Everything from trusted hosts
    echo Accept all from trusted source hosts
    # SOME IP ADDRESS
    /sbin/iptables -A INPUT -s 0.0.0.0 -i eth0 -j ACCEPT

## What we DENY