can someone recommend a good free softphone ?

Discussion in 'General' started by robert99, Feb 16, 2011.

  1. robert99

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi all
    im having problems logging e71 nokia into asterisk - consistently get "wrong password "- i only get this problem when i try to connect wan side - remotely ,,, locally i have no probs- password secret is accepted - but wan side , i have to delete the secret and have no password in nokia to log on- obviously this isnt secure.

    perhaps my nokia has a problem

    can someone recommend a nice free softphone for my windows laptop-

    ive used x lite ,,, wondered if someone uses a good alternative.


    perhaps the soft phone will log on to my remote asterisk server ,,, where my nokia wont.
     
  2. techchip

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Robert:

    Regarding your windows Softphone question, you should try Zopier Free.

    http://www.zoiper.com/download_intermed ... er_exe_win

    It works with AIX2 instead of SIP, so you should have no problems with cheap routers that doesn't have NAT for VIOP.

    Please, be sure to donwload Free version instead of Biz or comunicator version.

    Regards,

    Mauricio F.
     
  3. circuitid

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here are a few clients to consider:

    X-Lite (Windows)
    Zoiper (Windows)
    QuteCom (Windows, MacOSX, Linux)
    Ekiga (Windows, Linux)

    Hope this helps.
     
  4. fmvillares

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,785
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Re:can someone recommend a good free softphone ?

    also 3cx softphone and portgo sip phone
     
  5. Luis Diego

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    0
    X-Lite (Windows)
    Zoiper (Windows)

    For free is good. the lasted version X-lite is very cmplet
     
  6. theboss

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
  7. robert99

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks all for your replies - appreciate it

    if any one can help on my nokia problem tho -id be doubly appreciative its out foxed me for months...

    i gonna try one of them soft phones-see if they work where my nokia doesnt

    perhaps i might be able to then reach my asterisk box remotely - as it stands
    with my nokia i can only register when im on same lan-

    otherwise i keep getting "wrong password"

    if i delete the secret in asterisk for the extension- no problem , immmediate registration ,,, otherwise ,,,, it will not register - unless i put the nokia on the lan side - so asterisk is 192.168 etc etc.

    ive tried stun settings on nokia
    ive made asterisk=nat
    ive put local ip address of asterisk box in local net
    ive put externip= my fixed address

    ive dmz everything to asterisk in router

    but nothing- still ,,, wrong password


    only thing i can think of is fkd nokia!

    will try soft phone later..


    any one suffering same problem - whose done what ive done as above - and found the problem - please post a reply
    :)

    all the best.
    glen
     
  8. hassancheema36

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any Body know about any SoftPhone sdk... For free.... I already tried many times... but no Luck
     

Share This Page