Can not get call notification on Xlite

robh57

Joined
Jan 2, 2011
Messages
7
Likes
0
Points
0
#1
Hi all
Don't want to sound dumb but am completely new to this world of telephony and pbx servers.
I installed Elastix 2.0.0-57 onto the server last week, along with 3 x Xlite V3 Build 29712 soft phones onto 3 sepatate PC to build a small telemarketing operation.
I have followed Ben Sharif's fantastic guide for newbies Elastix without Tears, however i'm almost at that breaking point.....so if there is anyone out there who can offer advice please please help me.
I have been able to set up Elastix now to make and recieve internal calls between extensions (3 in total), I have even now got the sytem to dial out. My problem arises when dialing i, I have the following set up:
Ext 1000 - Operator
Ext 2001 - Sales 1
Ext 2002 - Sales 2
Ring Grp 2000 - Sales
Ring Grp 100 - All
Follow me rules are set to cascade to each extension etc etc

When Dialing in I can hear the ring tone, and after 10 second I am being transfered to the Ext 1000 voice mail. None of the extensions have indicated or rung to show an incoming call?

Can anyone out there have a guess at what I am missing I know that some of you guys will need logs and scripts etc etc but if you could please point me in the right direction I would really appriciate it.
Thanks Rob
 

hinzinho

Joined
Sep 18, 2009
Messages
461
Likes
0
Points
0
#2
Look at page 58, Inbound Routes, of Elastix without Tears.
 

robh57

Joined
Jan 2, 2011
Messages
7
Likes
0
Points
0
#3
Thanks for the reply, I have double checked all Route and Trunk settings, set exactly as per Elastix without tears and VOIPVOIP, and still no joy. I don't think that it is a router problem because when Xlite is set to directly access the Voip account I can make both inbound and outbound calls. I have noticed this morning that my version of Xlite does not have the g729 codec installed, I fail to understand why it is working directly and not when via the PBX?
I'll keep on trying and if you have any other ideas I would love to hear them. Thanks
 

hinzinho

Joined
Sep 18, 2009
Messages
461
Likes
0
Points
0
#4
I wasn't asking to check your router (which we will later on, but not now), but did you created a inbound route for "any" calls? What kind of outside lines are you using? POTS or VoIP?
 

robh57

Joined
Jan 2, 2011
Messages
7
Likes
0
Points
0
#5
Hi again, I have create a "catch all" Inbound route as per the details in EWT. I am using VOIPVOIP VoIP line in and out via a Cable modem, router and network switch.
 

hinzinho

Joined
Sep 18, 2009
Messages
461
Likes
0
Points
0
#6
I am not getting enough information from you. How about posting screenshots of your inbound and ring group?
 

robh57

Joined
Jan 2, 2011
Messages
7
Likes
0
Points
0
#7
Hi Karma

Sorry for the delay in replying to your post, I appriciate your assistance greatly.
Please find attached a link to a photobucket album with images of the screen shots for the Trunk, Inbound Routes and Ring Groups I have set up, please let me know if you have a problem viewing them...

http://i860.photobucket.com/albums/ab16 ... SalesA.jpg

http://i860.photobucket.com/albums/ab16 ... upAllA.jpg

http://i860.photobucket.com/albums/ab16 ... pVoipA.jpg

http://i860.photobucket.com/albums/ab16 ... PhoneA.jpg

http://i860.photobucket.com/albums/ab16 ... tingsA.jpg

Thanks for your assistance.

Rob
 

hinzinho

Joined
Sep 18, 2009
Messages
461
Likes
0
Points
0
#8
Everything appears to be correct, unless the soft phones are not registered with the pbx. Try running this command "sip show peers" under CLI and see if Elastix detects the phones.

Otherwise I am out of ideas.
 

robh57

Joined
Jan 2, 2011
Messages
7
Likes
0
Points
0
#9
Hi - I've run the CLI command (See Image below) and the phones seem to be registering OK with the PBX.

<img src="http://i860.photobucket.com/albums/ab169/robhindes/XtraPlan%20Images/CLIPagewithSettings.jpg" border="0" alt="Photobucket">

What is particularly confusing to me is that I am able to dial extension to extension and make outbound calls, so I am guessing that it is the PBX that is not managing the Inbound calls correctly.

The current status of the system for inbound calls is that I am getting a message, "The current extension 5559815390 is unavailable", then I get the answer phone beep. This number is my Voip account original number, and is being hears despite dialing the 866 number that we have subsribed to. If I dial the 555 number direct I get a disconnect signal.
I originally thourght this may be a router/firewall issue, but if I configure Xlite with the Voip provider settings directly, everything works fine. This then leads me to think that it is a problem possibly with the internal routing of Elastix and how it is handling inbound calls, and around and around in circles I go. Thanks for any additional thoughts you might have on the matter.
Regards Rob
 

robh57

Joined
Jan 2, 2011
Messages
7
Likes
0
Points
0
#10
Hi - I've run the CLI command (See Image below) and the phones seem to be registering OK with the PBX.

<img src="http://i860.photobucket.com/albums/ab169/robhindes/XtraPlan%20Images/CLIPagewithSettings.jpg" border="0" alt="Photobucket">

What is particularly confusing to me is that I am able to dial extension to extension and make outbound calls, so I am guessing that it is the PBX that is not managing the Inbound calls correctly.

The current status of the system for inbound calls is that I am getting a message, "The current extension 5559815390 is unavailable", then I get the answer phone beep. This number is my Voip account original number, and is being hears despite dialing the 866 number that we have subsribed to. If I dial the 555 number direct I get a disconnect signal.
I originally thourght this may be a router/firewall issue, but if I configure Xlite with the Voip provider settings directly, everything works fine. This then leads me to think that it is a problem possibly with the internal routing of Elastix and how it is handling inbound calls, and around and around in circles I go. Thanks for any additional thoughts you might have on the matter.
Regards Rob
 

hinzinho

Joined
Sep 18, 2009
Messages
461
Likes
0
Points
0
#11
Well that message "The current extension 5559815390 is unavailable" is not from Elastix. That's from your VoIP account. If it's from your Elastix, you'll hear your regular extension "2002", not "5559815390". You might want to double check your sip trunk and make sure it's registered to your voip.
 

robh57

Joined
Jan 2, 2011
Messages
7
Likes
0
Points
0
#12
Hi I had a rush of blood to the head this morning and accessed the set up via the Unembedded Free PBX, and Ha Ho Success - I can now get inbound calls that arrive by the Xlite softphone. All the settings were as I have previously made to the system, but for some reason now that they have been saved by this software they are working. Thank you very much for your help and advice.
 

dicko

Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
4,099
Likes
0
Points
0
#13
Please post that as a bug in the bug-tracker link below, some believe there are serious differences between the functionality of true FreePBX and the forked version Elastix distributes.

perhaps it is partly covered in the the unanswered/unresolved bug:

http://bugs.elastix.org/view.php?id=517

dicko
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest posts

Forum statistics

Threads
30,898
Messages
130,879
Members
17,560
Latest member
manuelc
Top