Can my PAP2T be used as a PSTN Trunk with elastix?

Discussion in 'General' started by brn_bxtr, Aug 17, 2009.

  1. brn_bxtr

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I Have Elastix installed , now i am able to make inbound calls (extensions to extensions), but i am stuck when setting up trunk, i have a PSTN Line through which i need the Elastix users to call outside world,

    My question is Can my Linksys PAP2T be used as a Trunk to integrate PSTN...
    (PSTN TRUNK)


    If It can be done where can i find the configuration. Pls help

    Thanks in advance,
     
  2. Jack

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, it works fine. Look Elastix_without_tears.pdf, Appendix D.3.
     
  3. brnbxtr

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re:Can my PAP2T be used as a PSTN Trunk?

    My question is Can my Linksys PAP2T be used as a Trunk to integrate PSTN... to make calls to the outside world using my PSTN LINE..
    (PSTN TRUNK)

    If It can be done where can i find the configuration. Pls help

    Thanks in advance,

    I have a PSTN LINE (Ordinary Telephone Line) and will like to used it as a truck to the outside world. My PBX extensions work fine with PAP2T.. i can make internal calls to other extension using my Linksys PAP2T
     
  4. dicko

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re:Can my PAP2T be used as a PSTN Trunk?

    Not unless you can find one with an FXO port :) , normally they have two FXS ports which while good for Phones, not good for lines at all.
     
  5. wrf911

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re:Can my PAP2T be used as a PSTN Trunk?

    Hi,

    The Linksys PAP2T (and PAP2)is only equipped with two FXS ports. FXS ports connect to analog phones not to a POTS line. The Linksys SPA3000 has both and FXS port and an FXO port. The FXO port can be connected to a regular POTS line and used as a trunk. Visually they both look very similar. But, I've never seen a PAP2T with an FXO port. I don't think they exist. I have both a SPA3000 and as PAP2T and they work extremely well.

    Check out Ebay. Both the PAP2T and the SPA3000 seem to be selling for around $50.00 or less. Make sure you get the unlocked version.
     
  6. dicko

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re:Can my PAP2T be used as a PSTN Trunk?

    I apologise for any confusion I caused , I guess my dry humor was not appreciated :)
     
  7. brnbxtr

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re:Can my PAP2T be used as a PSTN Trunk?

    Thanks you very much for that important information...
     
  8. wrf911

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re:Can my PAP2T be used as a PSTN Trunk?

    Dicko,

    No appology necessary. I do appreciate your dry humor. Just thought I would jump in with something I actually had some experience with.

    Your posts on this forum are extremely valuable. They have helped me and many others countless times. Thank you for your effort.
     

Share This Page