caller ID issues

emada

Joined
Dec 12, 2008
Messages
19
Likes
0
Points
0
#1
Hello i have just set up a elastix 1.3 test box, we are looking to move away from our current pbx system, and everything seems to be going great with the exception of our caller ID is no longer working and everything gets replaced with our outgoing caller ID. Any others have this issue?
 

pawels

Joined
May 19, 2008
Messages
51
Likes
0
Points
0
#2
Hello,
Did you set right Outbound CID for each extension?
 

emada

Joined
Dec 12, 2008
Messages
19
Likes
0
Points
0
#3
yes.
the formate is:
name <ph#>
 

pawels

Joined
May 19, 2008
Messages
51
Likes
0
Points
0
#4
Try to set Outbound CID the same like Direct DID.
name <Direct DID>
or just
Direct DID
 

dicko

Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
4,099
Likes
0
Points
0
#5
or preferably:
"name"<calleridnumber>

note the quotes, (it will only be honored by SOME SIP/IAX2 and SOME PRI carriers though, by no means all! and for PRI's it must be within the range, and of the format that the carrier will accept, and must be properly setup in /etc/asterisk/zapata.conf)

p.s. CID (caller ID) is nothing to do with DID (Direct Inward Dialing)
 

pawels

Joined
May 19, 2008
Messages
51
Likes
0
Points
0
#6
dicko you have right,
I suppose that emada has inbound routing based on DID (BRI or PRI) so I proposed to set Outbound CID wit value of Direct DID.

Example form my experience (BRI channels)
Extension conf
Direct DID = 012 XXXXXXX - for inbound routing
Outbound CID = 012 XXXXXXX - in this case outbound call has correct caller ID

Outbound CID = 12 XXXXXXX - in this case outbound call has default Caller ID assigned by telco provider

My English is not very wall so maybe I understand this topic in wrong way.
 

emada

Joined
Dec 12, 2008
Messages
19
Likes
0
Points
0
#7
thank you both very much for you responses so far. i will give it a go and report back here how it goes. again ty.
 

emada

Joined
Dec 12, 2008
Messages
19
Likes
0
Points
0
#8
ok i gave it a go and it didnt fix anything so i decided to try and see what our caller id is and as it turns out out-going caller ID is also broke. when i call our landline number it shows up as a wisconsin call?? so my cid isnt being sent. when ppl call in to my pbx it shows my cid for their numbers.
 

emada

Joined
Dec 12, 2008
Messages
19
Likes
0
Points
0
#9
ok so i removed the caller id info from Outgoing Settings Peer details and i no longer get my cid when ppl call in, but i still have no outgoing cid and incoming cid also still isnt working, now it just shows what number they are calling from.
 

jgibson

Joined
Dec 29, 2008
Messages
78
Likes
0
Points
0
#10
Can you see the cid info being sent from your elastix box when you make a call? I think you need to ssh into you box and then get to the asterisk cli using "asterisk -rvvvv". There is a macro called outbound-callerid. Can you post what information is next to those lines?
 

emada

Joined
Dec 12, 2008
Messages
19
Likes
0
Points
0
#11
jgibson said:
Can you see the cid info being sent from your elastix box when you make a call? I think you need to ssh into you box and then get to the asterisk cli using "asterisk -rvvvv". There is a macro called outbound-callerid. Can you post what information is next to those lines?
sure

Code:
 -- Executing [s@macro-outbound-callerid:3] NoOp("SIP/102-093b0488", "REALCALLERIDNUM is 102") in new stack
    -- Executing [s@macro-outbound-callerid:4] GotoIf("SIP/102-093b0488", "1?normcid") in new stack
    -- Goto (macro-outbound-callerid,s,9)
    -- Executing [s@macro-outbound-callerid:9] Set("SIP/102-093b0488", "USEROUTCID=") in new stack
    -- Executing [s@macro-outbound-callerid:10] Set[0;37;    40m("SIP/102-093b0488", "EMERGENCYCID=") in new stack
    -- Executing [s@macro-outbound-callerid:11] Set("SIP/102-093b0488", "TRUNKOUTCID="Grandcare Systems" <262-384-4903>") in new stack
    -- Executing [s@macro-outbound-callerid:12] GotoIf("SIP/102-093b0488", "1?trunkcid") in new stack
it looks as if it is being sent.

Here is a incoming call:

Code:
    -- Executing [s@macro-user-callerid:1] NoOp("SIP/12623844902-093b0488", "user-callerid: 12623386147 12623386147") in new stack
    -- Executing [s@macro-user-callerid:2] Set("SIP/12623844902-093b0488", "AMPUSER=12623386147") in new stack
    -- Executing [s@macro-user-callerid:3] GotoIf("SIP/12623844902-093b0488", "0?report") in new stack
    -- Executing [s@macro-user-callerid:4] ExecIf("SIP/12623844902-093b0488", "[1;35   ;40m1|Set|REALCALLERIDNUM=12623386147") in new stack
    -- Executing [s@macro-user-callerid:5] NoOp("SIP/12623844902-093b0488", "REALCALLERIDNUM is 12623386147") in new stack
    -- Executing [s@macro-user-callerid:6] Set("SIP/12623844902-093b0488", "AMPUSER=") in new stack
    -- Executing [s@macro-user-callerid:7] Set("SIP/12623844902-093b0488", "AMPUSERCIDNAME=") in new stack
    -- Executing [s@macro-user-callerid:8] GotoIf("SIP/12623844902-093b0488", "1?report") in new stack
    -- Goto (macro-user-callerid,s,13)
    -- Executing [s@macro-user-callerid:13] NoOp("SIP/12623844902-093b0488", "TTL:  ARG1: 102") in new stack
    -- Executing [s@macro-user-callerid:14] GotoIf("SIP/12623844902-093b0488", "0?continue") in new stack
    -- Executing [s@macro-user-callerid:15] Set("SIP/12623844902-093b0488", "__TTL=64") in new stack
    -- Executing [s@macro-user-callerid:16] GotoIf("SIP/12623844902-093b0488", "1?continue") in new stack
Here it looks like asterisk isnt getting the caller id sent to it...
 

emada

Joined
Dec 12, 2008
Messages
19
Likes
0
Points
0
#12
-bump-
 

dicko

Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
4,099
Likes
0
Points
0
#13
I believe that replacing your CID

<262-384-4903>
with
<2623844903>
might help
or
<12623844903>
as your provider seems to be sending you all 11 digits
 

jgibson

Joined
Dec 29, 2008
Messages
78
Likes
0
Points
0
#14
I've been on vacation for a week and I've gotten a little confused about what you need. Do you need everyone to use the same outbound CID or do you want each extension to have there own.

I also agree with dicko that changing your number to get rid of the - may help.
 

emada

Joined
Dec 12, 2008
Messages
19
Likes
0
Points
0
#15
dicko said:
I believe that replacing your CID

<262-384-4903>
with
<2623844903>
might help
thanx ill give it a try!
 

emada

Joined
Dec 12, 2008
Messages
19
Likes
0
Points
0
#16
jgibson said:
Do you need everyone to use the same outbound CID or do you want each extension to have there own.
yeah every one should be using the same CID.
 

emada

Joined
Dec 12, 2008
Messages
19
Likes
0
Points
0
#17
ok and it goes on. After hours of looking around and searching for little signs of things going wrong i have found this. i have line 1 "line1" and line 2 "line2". When someone calls in they get the irv from which you goto what ever extension, you only get the ivr when you dial into line1. if you call in to line2 you go right to me. now when i have callerid set in the PEER details of trunk line2 any call coming into line1 displays line2 cid. cid dont work at all for calls coming into line2. In the cdr reports i see each phone is getting two calls, one is the real call then a second one shows up for 0 seconds and dont get answered:

Code:
2009-03-02 14:29:10 - 12623386147 - 100 - SIP/12623844902-b7701700 - SIP/100-0933f730 - ANSWERED - 5
2009-03-02 14:29:19 - 12623386147 - 100 - SIP/12623844902-b7701700 - SIP/100-0933f730 - NO ANSWER - 0
not sure where to go from here.
 

jgutierrez

Joined
Feb 28, 2008
Messages
5,737
Likes
0
Points
0
#18
to fix the cdr issues, go to /etc/asterisk/extensions.conf

and find the following section:

Code:
[macro-hangupcall]
exten => s,1,ResetCDR(w)
exten => s,n,NoCDR()

; Cleanup any remaining RG flag
;
exten => s,n,GotoIf($[ "x${USE_CONFIRMATION}" = "x" | "x${RINGGROUP_INDEX}" = "x" | "${CHANNEL}" != "${UNIQCHAN}"]?skiprg)
exten => s,n,Noop(Cleaning Up Confirmation Flag: RG/${RINGGROUP_INDEX}/${CHANNEL})
exten => s,n,DBDel(RG/${RINGGROUP_INDEX}/${CHANNEL})



and edit it, so it will look like this:
Code:
[macro-hangupcall]
;exten => s,1,ResetCDR(w)
;exten => s,n,NoCDR()

; Cleanup any remaining RG flag
;
exten => s,1,GotoIf($[ "x${USE_CONFIRMATION}" = "x" | "x${RINGGROUP_INDEX}" = "x" | "${CHANNEL}" != "${UNIQCHAN}"]?skiprg)
exten => s,n,Noop(Cleaning Up Confirmation Flag: RG/${RINGGROUP_INDEX}/${CHANNEL})
exten => s,n,DBDel(RG/${RINGGROUP_INDEX}/${CHANNEL})
as you will see, that will comment the first two lines of the context, and the next line will have the priority 1, instead of n

save the file and exit, the on the sheel execute the following command:

asterisk -rx "reload"
 

emada

Joined
Dec 12, 2008
Messages
19
Likes
0
Points
0
#19
jgutierrez said:
to fix the cdr issues, go to /etc/asterisk/extensions.conf

and find the following section:

Code:
[macro-hangupcall]
exten => s,1,ResetCDR(w)
exten => s,n,NoCDR()

; Cleanup any remaining RG flag
;
exten => s,n,GotoIf($[ "x${USE_CONFIRMATION}" = "x" | "x${RINGGROUP_INDEX}" = "x" | "${CHANNEL}" != "${UNIQCHAN}"]?skiprg)
exten => s,n,Noop(Cleaning Up Confirmation Flag: RG/${RINGGROUP_INDEX}/${CHANNEL})
exten => s,n,DBDel(RG/${RINGGROUP_INDEX}/${CHANNEL})
and edit it, so it will look like this:
Code:
[macro-hangupcall]
;exten => s,1,ResetCDR(w)
;exten => s,n,NoCDR()

; Cleanup any remaining RG flag
;
exten => s,1,GotoIf($[ "x${USE_CONFIRMATION}" = "x" | "x${RINGGROUP_INDEX}" = "x" | "${CHANNEL}" != "${UNIQCHAN}"]?skiprg)
exten => s,n,Noop(Cleaning Up Confirmation Flag: RG/${RINGGROUP_INDEX}/${CHANNEL})
exten => s,n,DBDel(RG/${RINGGROUP_INDEX}/${CHANNEL})
as you will see, that will comment the first two lines of the context, and the next line will have the priority 1, instead of n

save the file and exit, the on the sheel execute the following command:

asterisk -rx "reload"
thanx man, that did fix the CDR reports issue, now i just have to figer out this damned caller id thing!
 

emada

Joined
Dec 12, 2008
Messages
19
Likes
0
Points
0
#20
Ok here is more info on my issue. Something i didnt notice, it seems that calls coming in on line1 "the line that IVR picks up", are getting displayed as source channel line2 in CDR reports. It should be showing line1, line1 was the one being called.
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest posts

Forum statistics

Threads
30,970
Messages
131,035
Members
17,682
Latest member
dbaezh
Top