Discussion in 'General' started by cowboy47, Nov 30, 2007.

1. cowboy47

Jun 14, 2007
    There have been several discussions about bacula versus backuppc.

I am interested to know if anyone has done more research into bacula. If I have to install a separate system I will, but I have not had luck installing the rpms.

2. lefty4080

Nov 27, 2007
    Probably like you I wanted something more than just a backup of my elastix or trixbox files. I have had to reload so many systems and no one seems to have a good working backup system to make a complete image of the system.

I tried several times to get bacula to work with no success. On Centos 5 anyway.

DISCLAIMER: I am no linux expert. I follow directions and when they work great. I cant guarantee they will work for you but this worked for me. I did it step by step as I need it that way as a novice so I hope this helps someone else that was suffering the same frustration of not having an entire system backup plan for there PBX.

I recently downloaded the Elastix .9, installed and worked out the bugs. I am happy where my system is at and dont want a bad upgrade to kill it. So that being said I was finally able to get Mondo to work with this setup. Mondo, once it worked was excellent. Although I have not used the disk image it created I am pretty sure all is well. Here is what I had to do in case it helps you or anyone else:

1. I went to this site:

2. I went to the download section-Chapter 3 it brought me to this link

3. I went to the dependencies section and downloaded the following files:

4. I then logged in as root and did
    yum install cdrecord

5. Because I am lazy I used Webmin to install the components in step 3.
    Went to the system, software, and used install a new package and used from uploaded file.
    Then clicked on the box and went to the place on my machine that I downloaded the files to. Once it loaded I made sure that I checked the box that said "overwrite files" as Yes.