asterisk server crash

Discussion in 'General' started by anatolorg, Oct 31, 2008.

  1. anatolorg

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all

    We have One server with asterisk 1.2.7.1 and another with asterisk 1.4.15.
    Sometimes "CPU and Memory use" is growing dramatically up and causes the server crash.

    Please any help?
    Thank you a lot.

    Here are hadware configurations
    Hadware N°1 : XR2047(1PRI)
    Hadware N°2: XR2048(1PRI + 8FXS + ASTRIBANK-8FX0)
    Memory : 1 GB
    Hard disk: 60 Go
    OS : Centos 5.1

    [root@elastix asterisk]# cat /proc/cpuinfo
    processor : 0
    vendor_id : GenuineIntel
    cpu family : 6
    model : 14
    model name : Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 215 @ 1.33GHz
    stepping : 12
    cpu MHz : 1333.467
    cache size : 512 KB
    fdiv_bug : no
    hlt_bug : no
    f00f_bug : no
    coma_bug : no
    fpu : yes
    fpu_exception : yes
    cpuid level : 10
    wp : yes
    flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic mtrr pge mca cmov pat clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss tm pbe nx constant_tsc up pni monitor tm2 xtpr
    bogomips : 2667.64
     
  2. jgutierrez

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,737
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi there,

    Try setting a crontab to free memory from cache every hour.

    Follow this steps:

    1. crontab -e
    2. Edit the file and enter:
    3. 0 */1 * * * sync; echo 3 > /proc/sys/vm/drop_caches
    4. save & exit

    This task will free memory stored at cache, the only thing that you will need to take into account is that you may use a little bit more of processing. If there is a call when the task is performed, the call won't hangup, you won't have any problem.

    Additionally, when you have your peaks in cpu and in RAM, what are the processes that are on the top of the list. Try using the top command.
     
  3. jervin01

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same problem, memory usage rise up and than crashes.

    I rent a VPS server and 1.6 elastix.
    Asked to rise the memory to 2 gb but situation is same.
    When I run sync; echo 3 > /proc/sys/vm/drop_caches its nothing hapened.
    I add to crone job to run it every hour but nothing the memory stil on 80%.
    Is there another solution?
     
  4. jgutierrez

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,737
    Likes Received:
    0
    I will recommend that you check what is going on your server, execute the top command and which process is taking the major part of RAM.
     
  5. jervin01

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    usr/bin/php -q /var/lib/asterisk/agi-bin/a2billing.php

    Ok when its write sql its use mem but when there is no active call than the mem usage stand on 70%.



    But now there just 4-5 active calls when its activ realythan a2billing.php use much more

    [​IMG]
     
  6. jgutierrez

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,737
    Likes Received:
    0
    I see a long list os pache instances, what are you running through the web interface? Any custom report, any other thing? Are you using the call center module?
     
  7. jervin01

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I dont use call center module, I use a2billing for every user, I dont register useres in asterisk just in a2billing but nothing else.
    What can I do?

    And thanks a lot for time.
     
  8. jervin01

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    this morning mem usage fall down to 33%, but slowly moving up, is there any option whats happening on saturday morning what run himslf what can erase memory? because on 2 server its happening?
    Simply its cleared the momory usage!
     

Share This Page