Add a phone in another network

SCA IT Services

Joined
Oct 2, 2018
Messages
7
Likes
0
Points
1
#1
Hello!.
I have Grandstream IP phones, we are school campus and we have different buildings. The head department moved to another building and they want to keep the same extension but since they are in other building, they are in another network and SIP account, so is there a way of using the same phone line and extension if they are located in another building? We also use VOIP MS to manage the lines.
Thanks in advance.
 

AJP

Staff member
Joined
Dec 6, 2016
Messages
268
Likes
14
Points
68
#2
Hi,

The following Grandstream phones can be used as remote with STUN or behind the 3CX SBC:

https://www.3cx.com/sip-phones/grandstream-gxp16-series/
https://www.3cx.com/sip-phones/grandstream-gxp17-series/
https://www.3cx.com/sip-phones/grandstream-gxp21-series/

Before provisioning please check that phones are running a supported firmware: https://www.3cx.com/support/phone-firmwares/

Also you will need to port forward SIP port, RTP ports and HTTPS if using STUN or only the Tunnel port and HTTPS port if the 3CX SBC is used.

For more information about it check the following link: https://www.3cx.com/docs/manual/firewall-router-configuration/

Have a great day!
 

SCA IT Services

Joined
Oct 2, 2018
Messages
7
Likes
0
Points
1
#3
Thank you for your answer.
Our IP phone is supported but I don't understand what STUN means. Where do I find that? Is it on the PBX module?
And how do I open the ports?

Thanks in advance for your help.
 

AJP

Staff member
Joined
Dec 6, 2016
Messages
268
Likes
14
Points
68
#4
Hi STUN is a method that helps discovering the public IP and port mapping in the remote area for the phones.

I think you must check the following links:

https://www.3cx.com/3cxacademy/videos/intermediate/configuring-remote-extensions/
https://www.3cx.com/3cxacademy/videos/intermediate/remote-extensions-sbc/

Also all the information about the firewall configuration can be found here:

https://www.3cx.com/3cxacademy/videos/basic/nat-port-forwarding/
https://www.3cx.com/docs/manual/firewall-router-configuration/
https://www.3cx.com/support/firewall-configuration/

Have a great day!
 

SCA IT Services

Joined
Oct 2, 2018
Messages
7
Likes
0
Points
1
#5
Your academy is awesome but I am confused. I have the PBX module on Elastix and then we managed our lines on voip.ms website. Where do I set up the IP phone if it is in another location under another network?
 

AJP

Staff member
Joined
Dec 6, 2016
Messages
268
Likes
14
Points
68
#6
Quick question,

Are you using the Elastix version 5 or another version?
 

SCA IT Services

Joined
Oct 2, 2018
Messages
7
Likes
0
Points
1
#7
Where can I see which version I am using?
 

AJP

Staff member
Joined
Dec 6, 2016
Messages
268
Likes
14
Points
68
#8
If you are in version 5 you can check this on: Dashboard ----- System INFO ---- License you should have 15.5.15502.6
 

SCA IT Services

Joined
Oct 2, 2018
Messages
7
Likes
0
Points
1
#9
Thanks for answering, but this is how my dashboard looks like.
upload_2018-10-5_15-26-22.png
 

AJP

Staff member
Joined
Dec 6, 2016
Messages
268
Likes
14
Points
68
#10
Hi, you are using and end of live version, that is version 4.

This forum is dedicated to version 5. Please proceed to make your post in correct forum that would be the forum for 2.5 and 4.

Have a great day!
 

SCA IT Services

Joined
Oct 2, 2018
Messages
7
Likes
0
Points
1
#11
Thank you so much for your support.
 

AJP

Staff member
Joined
Dec 6, 2016
Messages
268
Likes
14
Points
68
#12
Sure no problem.
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest posts

Forum statistics

Threads
30,902
Messages
130,887
Members
17,566
Latest member
Fpino
Top